It’s Not Coming Out…

No, you sickos, not that. The words!

Don’t get me wrong, I love to write. It’s my passion. I admit, however, that it can be a daunting and painful task at times. All because of writer’s block.

There are two methods I utilize when my writing spirit becomes withered by such an affliction. The first method is to remove myself completely from the project at hand – reading books, going out for a run, playing tennis, hanging out with friends, etc. When that doesn’t work, I force myself to write. This usually results in hours of staring at the computer screen until my mind conjures a neat little sentence. Which I proceed to erase a few minutes later, after realizing I forgot something important. Like a subject.

But the combination of those two actions eventually creates a completed assignment – maybe not a perfect piece, but good enough that I can come back to it and edit the errors later. At this moment, that isn’t the case.

I am struggling to write an article for my school’s newspaper, and it’s due tomorrow. The problem is an anomaly – I know what I’m writing about, I have quotes, and I’ve done my research. I just can’t get the words out. Plain and simple. Journalistic writing has never been my forte, but in the past I’ve managed to at least scrounge up a half-decent story. This time, I’m not so sure what will happen.

Have you ever dealt with writer’s block? What did you do to make it go away?

9 Comments

Filed under Personal

9 responses to “It’s Not Coming Out…

  1. Wes

    I go do something I 1. enjoy but don’t do very often, 2. do something random or 3. work out to the point of absolute exhaustion. Which is cycling for me. I mean a hard workout the kind that after you take a shower your at absolute ease with everything. For me at least 1 of those 3 things fixes it. I think a 4. might be zoning out to music almost simulating meditation but I’ve only done that once and it was by accident.

    • Hm, the workout one seems like it should help – after all, exercise does get the brain going. And the fourth one reminds me of yoga, almost like cleansing the brain of unnecessary distractions… thanks for reading and the ideas! (:

  2. hm. to defuse writer’s block, I usually go on a long walk and talk to myself. Then after talking to myself, I make an outline (especially if it’s for school) of everything possible that I could/should write. Then I force myself to sit down and write.. which you do, as you said in your post. But when I say I force myself, I literally do force myself, no matter how horrible it is, if I stick to my outline and just put the bullets into prose form, I will set a goal to get at least one/two/etc. pages done at the end of one/two/etc. hours, no matter how painful and ugly and disjointed it is at first. I believe waiting for the perfect sentence to arrive is too slow and excruciating for me T____T

    lol. I apologize if there’s an onslaught of commenting..
    Michelle

    • Oh my, I see what you mean – but I bet your definition of “painful and ugly and disjointed” isn’t half as bad as mine, which is why I don’t enjoy the force tactic, though I end up utilizing it anyway. -_-

      I love the outline idea, that must aid in organizing all your thoughts and details into something that should be easy to follow once you actually write the paper. I’ve created outlines in the past, but I’ve neglected to use them for awhile – I’ll definitely use them in the future if I’m in a writing rut.

      No need to apologize, I love your comments. (: Thanks for reading!

  3. Scala

    In writing an article, I suggest you should first write up (or bullet) every important details first. Or every important point. That way you can create a backbone for your story, and you don’t fall apart if you wish to turn to other points from time to time. Also this can help you organize your thoughts.

    Try following this: http://www.albany.edu/eas/170/outline.htm

    Hope this helps. :)

    • Scala

      Also determine what your thesis statement is. Then make the whole outline revolve around it. That way, the idea of the whole article is uncluttered.

      • Wow, last night when I was forcing myself to write the assignment (around 11:00 PM) I did exactly what you suggested, using my thesis statement as the backbone of my article and focusing all my other ideas/details around it. That allowed me to connect whatever I was writing back to my main point, so I never got lost.

        Thanks for the resource and for reading!

  4. Crystal

    Writer’s block…it’s something I wish there was an actual cure for.

    When it comes to something I HAVE to write, like an essay for school, I force myself to sit down and let my mind explore every idea I possess until I can get it on paper.

    When it comes to writing something original like stories or blogging, I think we both know that’s totally different. Whenever someone is talking to me about writer’s block or when I’m thinking about the general concept, my mind seems to recall one word: inspiration. That’s the one word that gets me through writer’s block. I tell myself to stop searching for ideas to write about and instead just carry on with life and let inspiration find me. I feel like once you’re truly inspired by an idea, it flows out the easiest. Maybe that’s just me, though.

    P.S. love how you managed to write a post about writer’s block while you were experiencing writer’s block. :)

    • Oh, I totally know what you mean about letting inspiration find you instead of seeking it out. When I’m interested in the topic I’m writing about, or passionate about the emotions I’m exploring in my stories, it just becomes so much easier than when I’m forced to write something just because I have to. So it’s not just you. :)

      Thanks for reading and commenting, Crystal. :D

Leave a Reply

