The Truth About Gays

They’re going to get married. In every single state. Just like heterosexuals, and just like blacks. Eventually, they’re going to be treated how they deserve to be treated – as equal citizens of the United States of America.

Of course, there is one condition. But more on that later.

I’m sure you’re thinking, how can I come to this conclusion? How can I be so optimistic? So idealistic? How is it possible when kids are being bullied every day just for being gay, and when well under half of the states in the US still deny gays the right to marry?

Because it all comes down to this: time. As time passes, things change. People change. Cultures change. Societies change. Change in itself, is, well, inevitable.

The evidence to support this claim is extensive. When examining gays themselves, it is clear that they have made tremendous strides in the past few decades – an example includes the repeal of “Don’t Ask, Don’t Tell.” Statistics show that acceptance of gays is on the rise, especially among Millennial youth. More and more people are starting to see through the slippery slope fallacy and realize how illogical it is to treat gays as second class citizens for no reason other than their sexuality. Countless arguments based on crazy concepts or religion have been discredited for either being nonsensical or irrelevant – after all, church and state should be considered separate, should they not?

The Fourteenth Amendment of the United States passed in 1868 states that because blacks can be considered citizens, they thus deserve the right to life, liberty and happiness – however, they never really obtained the right to these things until about 100 years later. I never said that gays would acquire equality easily or quickly – only eventually. Like my history teacher said, after the Civil War, blacks weren’t going to get their rights right away. Rather, they would have to wait until a couple of generations died out and the younger, more educated and accepting people took their places.

It is almost painfully obvious that gays deserve their rights and that they will get them – but it is truly painful to see how many people stand by and do nothing about it, and that consequently we will have to wait for possibly hundreds and hundreds of years for homosexuality to be tolerated as it should be. I don’t have any statistics to back what I’m going to say next, but it is my belief that too many individuals are simply indifferent toward gays as opposed to actually supporting them.

Don’t get me wrong, indifference is much better than intolerance. However, this brings me to my one condition as to whether or not gays will ever get their rights: as long as people actively participate in the movement – the movement of gay rights – then one day, everything will work out and gays will be able to get married and adopt kids and do whatever a heterosexual couple can do. The time it takes for that to be accomplished directly correlates with the amount of people contributing to supporting gays – be it by spreading the word among friends and family members, attempting to educate people through lecturing, writing, etc., or simply standing up for someone who is being taunted because of their sexuality.

(words cannot express how much I love this video, and Zach Wahls’s speech)

Overall, this post serves as my stand on gays and gay rights. The time will come when high school students, like me, read in their textbooks about how gays were treated differently by others – separately but equally, if you will – and wonder why the ignorant people within our time period could have failed to treat their fellow human beings with tolerance as opposed to hate. Do you want to be remembered as one of those people? Or do you want to be remembered as someone who ascended above the narrow-mindedness of their time? Someone who, despite all odds, helped one of the most important and inevitable movements of their time succeed?

Thoughts? This post was inspired by the myriad of gay rights pages and videos I’ve been viewing lately – if you follow me on Twitter, you can tell that I’ve really been waving the rainbow flag lately. I hope you are too, and I hope you’re having a nice day as well! Till next time.

16 Comments

Filed under Personal, Society

16 responses to “The Truth About Gays

  1. It is still puzzling to me why gays are reviled. Why are people hated because of who they love? I don’t get it.

    • Ignorance. People fear what they cannot understand and I think that insecurity leads to their hatred for the unknown because homosexuality deviates from the norm in society, so what’s not normal is thought to be bad and therefore harmful to society. That’s what I think.

      Some see it as sinful because holy scriptures didn’t approve of it but honestly, I have not yet heard a line of the Bible or the Bhagavad Gita or any other scripture that states anything specifically about the issue and many rely for allusions for assurance. Someone correct me if I am wrong.

      • I couldn’t have stated it better myself, Devina. Though I do think that homosexuality is thought to be “not normal” when it really is “normal”, besides the fact that the person is sexually attracted to people of their own gender… but that’s not really strange anyway.

  2. Yep. There will be a day when gays will have the same privileges as heterosexuals, whether they (the ignorant masses) like it or not. One day when I flip through my child or my grandchild’s text book or a history book, I will be proud to know that I was one of the many who had supported those who were deprived of their rights because of who they loved. You really think things through Thomas, I’ll give you that.
    My father has a somewhat different view and him being a person whom I look up to I try to make him proud of me and I cannot bring myself to tell him how I truly feel about gay people being like me and you, normal. But I talk to my mom and my friends and I don’t hold back on anything and many, but sadly not all, of them understand and support gay rights. I am really happy that there a people that I know that stand up for those who hated and shunned because they refuse to be someone other than themselves.
    The time shall come, but I hope, I really hope that it will in our lifetime.

    You know, I’ve been thinking with many people reading the quiet voice there must be some who don’t agree with your opinion on this matter. I’m wondering why I haven’t seen any contradicting remarks. But I have to say you do have excellent points and you must have scared them away, no?
    I don’t have a rainbow flag on me right now but I’m going to be very colourful tomorrow when I’m going to school and if anyone inquires of my fashion decision I’ll tell ‘em why.
    Oh well, adios for now and good luck in the coming day :)

    • I know how you feel, there are certain people that are nice to talk to but I just can’t connect with because of their stance on this issue. I also hope it’s in our lifetime when gays get more rights, though they’re not doing terribly now, things could be a lot better.

      There are definitely people who disagree, and many of them probably haven’t read this post (my blog is rather small, so) and if they have perhaps they are too busy to respond… or I scared them away, which would be nice, but it would be even better if I had changed their minds – wishful thinking, probably. Anyway, I admire your choice to wear rainbow-colored clothing!

      Thanks for the thoughtful response as always, Devina. (:

  3. A Pakistani Boy

    You found a very beautiful video to go with your post. People have the right to be whoever they wanna be and express themselves.

  4. Let the rainbow flag wave high and long! Great post Thomas.

  5. Love this post, and the points you made in it. I do believe that intolerance is very much a generational thing. Sometimes my grandparents say or do things that I don’t comprehend, but I have to remember they’re from a different time. In the past year alone I’ve heard two women from that SAME generation (coincidentally, the same generation running a majority of congress. Coincidence? Not likely) who have verbally disowned their own family for their homosexual preferences. My mother and I are from a different generation, a generation much more open minded.

    But there will always be the assholes, to be frank about it, in every generation – people whose fathers raised them to be narrow minded – and some of them will be able to break free of it, but most will continue to think that anyone of color should be beneath the white American, that men are better than women who should be at home making sandwiches and doing the cleaning because it’s their job (this isn’t a joke, I lived with an asshole like this), and who believe that anybody with a differing opinion deserves to die. They are skinheads. They are members of the KKK. They are religious extremists, be it Muslims, Christians, Jews. And while many of these narrow minded individuals are in that oldest generation, you can see representatives from this generation and the next already within their ranks.

    Now I’m not saying that what you said will never happen, I believe it will too, but there is a lot more to overcome than indifference. Even if this generation rallied together to do something about it, to protest the injustice and express their desires to their representatives, there is no guarantee that anything effective will happen until more of this open minded generation enters into politics to become open minded representatives. If simply speaking out for a cause was an effective solution, that military power bill allowing indefinite imprisonment of suspected terrorists and their allies without trial wouldn’t have gone through, nor would we still be worried about internet censorship for SOPA and PIPA. Sadly, I don’t think the prevailing issue for our future is necessarily indifference, but rather a loss of interest in our current generation for jobs in the government, for political careers. I don’t know a single politically driven person my age, and I don’t know anybody who would come around to being a politician. I know I certainly wouldn’t want to be.

    I don’t know if there’s really a solution, but I thought it was worth mentioning.

    • I also just realized I said Coincidentally and mentioned something not being a coincidence in the same sentence. Needless to say, I’m an art major not a writer XD

      • Hm… I agree with you in that there will always be people around who are narrow-minded and unaccepting of others. One of my main beliefs is people should ignore those that are bigots and those who are narrow-minded and do what they know is right – like the quote, “be the change you want to see in the world” (that might not have been it exactly, but something like that).

        I actually had not thought of that prior to posting this, interesting. I only know a couple who might be interested in politics, but no one that really has a passion for it. Then again, most people my age – teens who are still in high school – are unaware of what they are passionate about all. But I see what you mean, I feel like politics in general has grown so corrupt and has earned such a negative connotation that it scares away the people who could truly make positive change. That’s something to think about… then again, those who are capable of voting can elect who they think is the best guy. We just need someone worth voting for.

        Thanks for the thought-provoking comment! I will ruminate on this further in the future.

        • Well I have the ability to vote, true, and I COULD vote the person I think is best, but it’s also based on availability. I can only choose from what is available in front of me. If my only options are homophobic religious bigot and slimy indifferent bigot, then I can’t exactly vote for the level-headeded open minded candidate that doesn’t exist. So it’s still a matter of supply, and knowledge. The people most likely to vote for an open minded intelligent (possibly young) candidate don’t exactly pay attention to news or politics. Sadly, they’re more interested in the crap on MTV. Come to think of it, there are a lot of things that stand in the way of this generation electing a decent candidate.

          Still, voting this coming election feels like fishing in a pond full of turds. A turd is a turd, some just may stink less than others.

          • I reached the same conclusion, actually (and unfortunately). I wouldn’t say our generation is entirely entrenched in the muck that is MTV and pointless reality television, though we could step up our game when it comes to getting involved in politics and trying to change the world.

            Also, I agree about this upcoming election… I’m glad Michelle Bachmann and Rick Perry are out, because if either of them became president I would have moved to Europe or Canada, but I am still not enamored with any of the remaining candidates. At this point, for me, it’s Obama all the way.

Leave a Reply

