Memoirs of an Imaginary Friend by Matthew Dicks

Cover via Goodreads.

Cover via Goodreads.

Rating: 5/5 stars.

Have you ever watched a movie where you knew how it was going to end right from the beginning, but you still cried when the ending came anyway? That’s what happened to me with Memoirs of an Imaginary Friend.

Budo is Max’s imaginary friend. He looks more human than most imaginary friends, can pass through doors and windows, and he loves Max. The bad part is that if Max stops believing in him, Budo will disappear. Max’s life moves as smoothly as it can for a child with a mental disability until one of his teachers does something that endangers his life. Now it’s up to Budo to rescue him, even if the costs him his own existence.

The best part of Matthew Dicks’ third novel was its voice. The writing style stayed fresh and consistent; it never felt fake or gimmicky. Dicks kept Budo in character and impressed me tremendously with the execution of this unique story.

What this book constantly made me think of was this quote from My Sister’s Keeper by Jodi Picoult: Kids think with their brains cracked wide open; becoming an adult, I’ve decided, is only a slow sewing shut. Children keep their minds wide open, and it’s adults who force themselves into corners because they have to deal with the harshness of reality. Just an interesting thought that Dicks incorporated into the book.

Overall, I highly recommend Memoirs of an Imaginary Friend to those searching for a different story with a touch of magical realism. It’ll make you question what you think about imaginary friends – perhaps I should get one of my own…

*also, here’s a clip from the audiobook of Memoirs of an Imaginary Friend kindly provided to me by Macmillan Audio if you’re interested in checking it out

10 Comments

Filed under 5 stars, Book Reviews, Books

10 responses to “Memoirs of an Imaginary Friend by Matthew Dicks

  1. I have never heard of this book. It seems very interesting! I would love to read the memoirs of an imaginary person :) This reminds me of a picture book I read when I was young. It was about a boy and his imaginary dragon.
    I always know how dog movies and books end but I cry anyway. (The dog always dies. Old Yeller, Where the Red Fern Grows, etc.)

  2. Ooh, this does sound interesting, this goes on my 2013 to-be-read shelf. I have an imaginary owl, did you know? It’s also interesting that some kids have imaginary friends while some don’t. I wonder if it’s mostly the ones that have a relatively trying childhood, sounds likely to me. On a kind of random note, do you know Neil Diamond?

    • The trying childhood point is touched upon in the novel, and I do think the children who possess more creativity may be more inclined to create imaginary friends too. Also I do not know Neil Diamond, he sounds like a singer though…

  3. Definitely going to be my next buy!

  4. I don’t know this book at all, but you make it sound really interesting. Also, the last book I read and had an annotation by Jodi Picoult on the cover was the Fault in Our Stars, which didn’t disappoint. The concept of imaginary friends is quite intriguing as well. So this probably will be on my TBR. Not sure I’ll find it, but I do hope I will.

    • Have you read anything by Jodi Picoult? She’s a fantastic author and I would trust her recommendations – The Fault in Our Stars was a great book. I hope you find it as well, and if you have enough money there’s always Amazon.

Leave a Reply

