Personal Update: 400,000 views, 3,000 comments, and a Tidbit On Grammar

1111 followers on the quiet voice

I had to screenshot this.

Hi everyone! This is just a quick little post to thank all of my readers for being radiant and splendorous individuals. Either last week or two weeks ago this blog got its 400,000th view and last week it received its 3,000th comment. I’m so incredibly thankful for everyone who’s taken the time to lurk or comment or stalk or spend any amount of time with my writing. Reading and responding to every comment widens my perspective, and I hope it enhances my readers’ as well.

This month I’ve been incredibly busy with family, school, friends, etc. Some depressing stuff happened that I might blog about in the future, but I know that none of that is an excuse for my lack of updates! With gay rights expanding, the Boy Scouts still being annoying, great books to review, and lots of music to listen to, I have much to write about. In fact, I’ve started a full-length fiction project I’m excited to write – perhaps details will emerge later on!

Also, one thing I’ve learned in the past few months – grammar isn’t that important. Let me clarify before you shoot me with your comma splice slingshots and perfect subjunctive sniper rifles. Yes, grammar provides refinement, sophistication, and clarity to writing. But I’ve realized through tutoring, this blog, and my own writing that the most essential aspect of writing is the idea itself. You can write a thought-provoking, mind-blowing essay with microcosms and connections to universal themes that shows your intellect even if it contains a misplaced comma or the occasional spelling error. However, a grammatically perfect paper with no insight does little to inspire anyone. The reason I bring this up now is because  I remember writing an embarrassing post about being a Grammar Nazi. Now, I’ve learned that good grammar impacts writing positively, but good grammar on its own can’t create a best-selling novel or a tear-jerking essay.

Thoughts on grammar anyone? Advice on how to get over fictional characters? Hope you all are enjoying your weekend so far!

Valentine's Day cupcakes created by Latin Honor Society! Aren't they pulchritudinous?

Valentine’s Day cupcakes created by Latin Honor Society! Aren’t they pulchritudinous?

 

31 Comments

Filed under Personal

31 responses to “Personal Update: 400,000 views, 3,000 comments, and a Tidbit On Grammar

  1. Congratulations on everything Thomas! And those cupcakes look absolutely delicious! I wish our school had such things like a Latin Honor Society.

    Really looking forward to your next post, no matter when it comes out!

    -Grace :)

    • Thank you Grace! There wasn’t one until last year, and now my friend and I are in charge of it, so if you’re interested maybe you can start something similar to it at your school.

  2. Andreas

    Woohoo! Congratulations Thomas, for the achievement!! :D And I’m so excited for this: “In fact, I’ve started a full-length fiction project I’m excited to write – perhaps details will emerge later on!” And I do agree about the thing where grammar isn’t always important, but I’ll always try to use it to enhance my writing and my English. :) BTW, it’s hard for me, sometimes, to get over some of them adorable fictional characters. :)

    • Thanks Andreas! Yep, the thoughts come first,then grammar strengthens them. My ardor for fictional characters always gets the best of me, I’m glad another guy can relate.

  3. Karabo Matome

    Congratulations, looking forward to your new posts! My new blog http://officialkarabom.wordpress.com

  4. Hey, you deserve it :D Well Done!

  5. I have always struggled with my grammar, I know mine’s not great and I’ve always really disliked people that are arrogant about it. People in the past have tried to make me feel very small simply because I tried to put an apostrophe in the wrong place. I have honestly never gotten the obsession with it, as I think there are a lot of other more important things in writing. Although, now I am taking steps to try and improve mine as I’m in a stage of my education where I need it to be top notch. But my problem was that I was never taught it properly in the first place. My primary school didn’t teach it right and therefore I’ve have had to work out most of it myself! I wish ‘grammar nazi’s’ would stop and think occasionally about the impact they have on others every time they nitpick. I felt very self conscious about my writing for a long time, and I still do in many ways.
    I’m glad to see you’ve got a new perspective, and congrats on all the views and followers!

    • I’m sorry that you’ve experienced negative reactions from people because your grammar wasn’t perfect. At the national conference on tutoring in writing I went to last year I attended a presentation about how difficult it is to write English for those who have it as a second language. I distinctly recall one of the presenters saying that people who criticize new writers because of their grammar mistakes often make the writers feel extremely self conscious and inadequate, even when they have good ideas. While I’m glad that you’re in the position to improve your grammar and make it top notch, I hope that you’re able to fully overcome your fear of judgment; from what I’ve read, your writing is wonderful.

      Thank you for your reading and commenting, Becky!

  6. Good grammar isn’t everything but it is rather pleasant to read something grammatically correct. I don’t think I can stand reading an essay bombarded with grammatical errors each line, no matter how great the idea of the writer is. Presentation counts too!

    My advice on getting over fictional characters? Find a new fictional character to obsess with!

    • I suppose good grammar is a plus, especially when reading novels that have gone through agents and editors. Essays that aren’t timed should be mostly grammatically correct as well – presentation is important, yes, but there needs to be a strong idea to give it substance!

      Ah… that advice feeds into the perpetual cycle of unrequited love… oh well, I’ll take it.

  7. I do agree that a misplaced comma or the occasional spelling error doesn’t really detract from an insightful paper, but I do think that in some places it counts more than others. If I see an advertisement with a misspelling it instantly makes me question the company, even if their field of expertise is something far outside the world of writing.

    As a freelance writer/translator I feel under constant pressure to NEVER make a mistake with my writing. I think it’s a skill to be able to give the task at hand the right amount of attention. Obviously with work, there shouldn’t be any mistakes, but with say a blog comment or a quick email I think even a professional writer should be comfortable with making the odd typo.

    • I agree. With companies or professional websites that are paying people to maintain their images typos should be taken out. In other areas it’s less important.

      Hm, it’s interesting to hear that, though not surprising with your background as someone who works as a writer/translator. As you wrote in your comment, it all depends on the situation!

  8. Pulchritudinous, hehe! What a word. And congratulations, Thomas! It’s clear you put a lot of efforts into your posts.

    Also, I hope that whatever ‘bad’ stuff happened, that it turns on itself to somehow bring more positive results. Just keep doing what you do =]

    • It’s one of my favorite words! Thank you so much for your continued responses, I will keep “doing what [I] do” indeed (and not just the part about always falling in love with fictional characters.)

  9. Cathal

    Congratulations!

    On noticing how radiant and splendorous I am. I’m confident you were mostly referring to me.

    Also, well done with your views or whatever.

    • Cathal, you’ve seen right through me. The entire purpose of this post was to discreetly compliment you (and only you) in a way that would make no one suspicious. Now that you’ve revealed my motive, it is all a waste.

      But, thank you. (:

  10. Congratulations. I’ll race you. *looks at my stats – cries* :D

    One point about grammar. Good grammar doesn’t add to a poor idea, but it can detract from a good one, as my English language teacher keeps going on about. I think that’s right. But if you’re writing fiction, you’re job is not to satisfy the grammarians – it’s to get the point across. Sometimes that means that you’ll have to bend, or break, the rules.

    • Colin, stats aren’t that important when it comes to blogging – it’s more about voice and content, which your blog has in spades.

      I agree with your English language teacher, he or she sounds smart! Also, I know what you mean when it comes to fiction. Some of the dialogue I write breaks grammar rules left and right, but, that’s how people talk, so I gotta do what I gotta do.

      Thanks for reading and commenting!

  11. Please please please update on the large fiction work you are going to start! I’d *love* to hear about it!
    And from someone who loves her grammar, it annoys me to no end when I ask someone to read something I wrote and all they give me feedback on is my comma use. There is a point where bad grammar detracts from the argument being made or the story being told, but the fact of the matter is, the large majority of comma splices will go unnoticed by the large majority of readers.

    • I have to finish it (or make decent progress with it) before I share – don’t want to jump the shark, ha ha. And I agree with you completely. As a tutor at my school’s writing center we’re taught that grammar is the last thing we should focus on. Organization, coherency of ideas, and overall quality of argument/analysis are more important than the occasional comma splice or subject/verb agreement issue.

  12. Adrian

    Congratulations on reaching this milestone, Thomas. Your blog has inspired me to write more often, and I definitely looking forward to seeing your future projects!

    Adrian

  13. Very well deserved. I think this blog is something for all the rest of us to aspire to.

Leave a Reply

