Here Comes the Rainbow

There once was a boy named Thomas, who had to run from the rain.

All his life, Thomas lived in a box. It was a nice box, full of food, clothes, and toys. When he was little, he wrote on the walls of the box. He slept in the box, he played games in the box, he read stories in the box. He had everything anyone could ever want in this little box, all of the things he needed to live.

But the box came with one bad part: it always rained. Thomas always thought that he needed to go outside for it to rain, but he could stay in his box and it would rain too. The rain poured on Thomas and made him cold. It whispered mean things to him, and left him feeling blue. The rain hurt Thomas so much that he cried whenever the rain fell. He always hoped the rain would stop.

When he got a little older, Thomas started to go out of the box. He met some super cool friends, like a gargoyle who never did her homework, a paper bag who loved to listen to Taylor Swift, and a warrior princess who loved new worlds. He went to a place called school, where he learned about subjects like English and math. He even ran into a beautiful butterfly that he told all his thoughts to: his feelings about the stories he read, the music he listened to, and whatever else was running around in his mind.

Then, the rain got worse. It made Thomas cry every day. It spewed acid on him and took away all the light. It got him so wet he wanted to give up, even though he never did. The rain never gave up either. It kept going, just like he did.

Finally, the rain had enough. One day, in the middle of a storm, Thomas begged the rain to go away, but it wouldn’t listen. It struck Thomas several times, hurting him more than it ever had before. He pleaded with the rain and tried to run away from it, but there was nowhere to go in his tiny little box. Thomas was trapped; he thought he was going to die.

At the last second Thomas called out for help with all his strength. The warrior princess rescued him right before it was too late. The rain was still in the box, but it couldn’t reach Thomas. He fled from it, trying to keep himself safe. The warrior princess and her friends helped Thomas heal. They kept him safe while the rain flooded the box.

On the same day of the storm, Thomas got a letter in the mail. It was from a kingdom far, far away. The kingdom invited Thomas to come stay there, where he could live and learn about all sorts of things, while meeting new friends and having more fun. Now he can’t wait for letters from more kingdoms, even if not all of them want him to visit.

Back in the box there is still rain. But Thomas isn’t terrified of the rain anymore, at least not as much as he used to be. He’s escaped from it for now, and he’s telling the butterfly his story to share it with the whole world. The world without the box scares him and excites him at the same time. He’s not sure what he’s going to do next, though a light shines out of all the shadows. He sees it, slowly, coming out from behind the clouds.

Thomas sees a rainbow.

28 Comments

Filed under Personal

28 responses to “Here Comes the Rainbow

  1. Thomas is a rainbow. Full of color and promise.

    I’m glad you are safe. And happy that there are kingdoms, and butterflies, and warrior princesses.

    But you, Thomas, are what gives me the most hope.

  2. I’m happy that you can see the rainbow now :) I really admire you for your strength through all this.

  3. Follow the rainbow :) speaking from experience, leaving that box will be one of the best things ever.

  4. Glad you could finally leave that box few of us have the courage to leave behind what we know. I wish all the best on your journey.

  5. Cara

    I haven’t commented in a while, but I just wanted to stop and tell you that this was beautiful writing and I could feel how much soul you put into this. Thank you for being so open and sharing it with us.

  6. That chilled me to the bones!

  7. Ah, not long for your rainbow?

    That was a beautiful story, but sad as well. (I cried a little. And I’m not a crier.) And yet I’m so glad you have ‘the beautiful butterfly’ and ‘the warrior princess’ in your life. They sound like wonderful friends. And I hope that from now on there’s more sunshine in your life.

    • I’m so thankful for the friends I have too. For the next few months it’ll be an uphill battle but I’ll do my best to persevere and prosper. Thank you for reading (and for crying, even if just a little bit)!

  8. Andreas

    Oh, wow! It was beautiful! I hope that you’ll have more rainbow, sunshine and other good things in your life. :)

  9. This made my throat ache. Lovely.

  10. you are such a good writer. I don’t even know what to say, I feel hopeful yet chilled.
    you follow that rainbow. Rainbows are pretty.

  11. With the right friends you can get through anything.

  12. jerbearinsantafe

    Reblogged this on JerBear's Musings & Memories and commented:
    A wonderful post by an extremely talented blogger. I hope this moves you as much as it moved me.

  13. This is so well written I feel like I’m reading something my heart typed out all on it’s own. Geese Thomas rip MY heart out why don’t you?! Just kidding, your honesty is so appreciated and loved. I’m giving you a giant bear hug with every paragraph!!! Also, you are one of those bloggers who I refer to as “my friend” to people when I talk about your book reviews. (books are my life so this happens often) hang in there and keep being strong :)

    • Aw, thank you so much for your support Emilie! I will do my best to keep my head high, as always. I look forward to discussing life and books with you.

Leave a Reply

