Prodigy by Marie Lu

Cover via Goodreads.

Cover via Goodreads.

Rating: 4/5 stars.

The sequel to Legend, Prodigy picks up on June and Day’s journey after escaping from the clutches of the Republic. Their mission should be clear: kill the new Elector and avenge their fallen family members. June and Day join the Patriots, a group of rebels, to fight for what they’ve lost – but what happens when the new Elector isn’t as bad as his father? Suddenly their plans don’t seem full proof anymore… if they even were to start with.

Contrary to the majority of book bloggers, I tend to enjoy the second book in a series more than the first. Prodigy is no exception. What I didn’t like in Legend was improved greatly in this addictive sequel. June and Day lose their status as cardboard cutouts and develop psychologically – it was frustrating and enjoyable to view their internal conflicts throughout the novel. New enemies raise the stakes and old ghosts enhance the motivations of our ill-fated protagonists. Marie Lu shows not only consistency in her delivery of this book but visible growth as a writer, something I admire.

The plot also intrigued me; while the world-building in Legend felt a bit stifled, in Prodigy I loved how Lu strengthened the setting with sharp details. The revelation regarding June’s brother exemplifies this. The element of dystopia was explained well without giving away any surprises.

Overall, while I’m not fanboying this series super hard or groveling on the ground over the romance, I’m eagerly awaiting Lu’s next release. If she shows a similar level of improvement and mastery of writing in Champion I will be more than content. Recommended to those who liked Legend and even to those who were on the fence about it.

4 Comments

Filed under 4 stars, Book Reviews, Books

4 responses to “Prodigy by Marie Lu

  1. Jenny

    Hmm–unlike you, I went from being apathetic about Legend to being endlessly frustrated/annoyed/disappointed in Prodigy. Maybe it’s just me, but I found the plot to be predictable and the two perspectives to be very redundant–I didn’t feel that Day’s perspective added much to the story.

    • Aw, I suppose we can agree to disagree. For me Day’s struggle to handle his feelings for June and his conflicting emotions regarding the Republic were real and sympathetic; but in a way I can see how others may not have appreciated his perspective. Thank you for reading and commenting irrespective!

  2. I really liked the first book in the series, and I’m glad you liked this one. Hope it works out well for me too.

Leave a Reply

