Three Year Anniversary! (featuring: me in heels)

After over 530,000 views, 400 posts, and 4,300 comments, I almost cannot believe today marks this blog’s three year anniversary. I feel guilty for not posting for so long and I need to throw in an incentive for people to still read this anyway like who actually reads this anymore so here’s a picture of me in heels from senior year:

I need to wear these more often - they really enhance your height. And your calves.

I need to wear these more often. They really enhance your height. And your calves.

I officially finished my finals – and my first semester of college – just yesterday. Looking back at my old posts (starting from sophomore year of high school, dang) gives me a strange sense of nostalgia and wonder; it feels like time passes so quickly. While what I’ve written on here over these past few months may lean toward the melodramatic, I’ve had the time of my life. Just because I love talking about myself and that’s all I do on this blog I’ve made a great group of acquaintances and a slowly forming close circle of friends, I’ve learned so much in terms of academics, and I’ve kept myself occupied with the following: an editor position of a literary arts magazine, a few secretarial roles in short story club and a hunger awareness organization, volunteering at an elementary school, a job, and more.

The future holds great opportunities as well. I’m participating in upper-level psychology research next semester, and I wish to form my own research project on the psychology behind either eating disorders or domestic abuse. A second job awaits me, tutoring fellow students with their writing. If it weren’t for all the lessons I’ve learned through writing on this blog and reading/responding to all of your comments, I definitely would not have the drive or the ability to do as much as I do. It only occasionally gets stressful, and that’s when I have books, this blog, creative writing, and the ten versions of Taylor Swift’s “I Knew You Were Trouble” on my IPod.

Still surviving on Goodreads! Can't wait to read more over winter break. Hopefully.

Still surviving on Goodreads! Can’t wait to read more over winter break. Hopefully.

College has also taught me to value my reading time a lot more. Thankfully I completed my goal of 77 books this year sometime last week, but we’ll see how much I can get through over break and over the course of this upcoming year. As an English major, reading shouldn’t be too hard unless you count the copious yet exciting amount of work I have woo woo.

Questions for you guys: what do you think of three years? Do you have anything in particular you would like me to write about, college-related, gay rights-related, etc.? I would love to respond to prompts. Book recommendations would also be appreciated now that holiday season is approaching. Lastly, has anyone heard of the app Quiz Up? It’s like a more intellectually stimulating version of Candy Crush. If you have a device that allows the installment of apps, I’d recommend it, unless you would like to be productive in your life.

I will probably post about something before next year, but if not, happy holidays and thanks again for a great three years! Here’s to three, or ten, or twenty more. Now to actually read and respond to all the comments waiting in the wings, and if you want to check out my thoughts on Emotional Intelligence by Daniel Goleman or Two Boys Kissing by David Levithan, you can do so here and here, respectively. See you guys soon!

24 Comments

Filed under Personal

24 responses to “Three Year Anniversary! (featuring: me in heels)

  1. Congratulations on your 3 years Thomas! I am a little worried though. 77 books in a year? I probably won’t get anything done in college since I read way too much (which is a good think IMO but my grades don’t agree).

    Also as long as you keep on posting pictures of yourself in heels, we’ll always come back for more! :D

    Happy holidays and enjoy your break! I am pretty sure you could use it :)

  2. Some great looking heels. ;)

  3. Congratulations on your first semester, Thomas! I miss seeing you around so much, but I know you are out in the world doing important things. It’s always a pleasure to see your face pop up, though, and when we get you in heels…even better! Hope you have a lovely break and holiday season. <3

    Wendy @ The Midnight Garden

    • Thank you Wendy – your continued kindness, eloquence when it comes to reviewing books, and genuine care and compassion about important issues inspires me. Hope you had a great holiday season and I wish you a wonderful new year!

  4. Congratulations on this achievement!

  5. Congrats! I applaud you for keeping up what I could not- a consistent blogging over the years.
    We started at a similar time, and look where you are! It’s incredible what drive and consistency (I suppose) can get you.
    We’ve both grown up an incredible amount, as evident from the posts, and while I’ve drifted towards poetry and away from personal accounts (though they still do exist), it’s been a pleasure reading your thoughts.
    Also, consider yourself lucky. I’m stuck in DC until Thursday with finals! Bravo on finishing your first term contently, if only all of us could be so lucky :)
    I wish you the best for the holidays!

    • Sarah, consistent or inconsistent what matters is that we’re both still blogging and attending fabulous universities – how was your first term at Georgetown? I hope your finals went well and have a great new year!

  6. Congratulations. Three years is a big achievement, especially for someone still so young as yourself. As for what to write, just whatever is on your mind seems to work. I prefer the personal stuff you write best. More insights in to your own life and relationships.

    As for seventy seven books. You really have put me to shame. I have enjoyed your Goodread reviews too, so thank you for those. I have found some great books through you.

    if this is the ladt post before Christmas, then I hope you have a really great one. X

    • Thank you for supporting me throughout all my time blogging and for commenting with your thoughts. (: Hope you had a great Christmas as well, and I’ll be sure to include more personal posts in the future.

  7. You rock those heels, Thomas! Congratulations on the three year anniversary :)

  8. Congratulations on three years, finishing finals and looking better in heels than most girls I know! :) Looking forward to your posts in the new year Thomas. Happy Holidays :)

  9. I am so glad that you have kept blogging for three years! And heels!!! You’re adorable. ;) Congrats on finishing the first semester. It sounds like you have settled in well :)

  10. Hello! Just found your blog recently and I think I shall make myself an official guest :D Congratulations on your three-year blogoversary. That must feel really great ^_^ Oh, and heels! You look good in them ;) It makes me a little jealous, since I’m terrible at wearing them. At my most recent orchestra concert, I fell and almost killed my violin, thanks to them. But, a handsome boy was there to help me up, so maybe it was a good thing?

    Anyways. Wow, you’re doing so much and accomplishing so much! It seems that you are having a lot of fun with life in college. That’s a long ways away for me, but hearing about the great things people do in college make me look forward to it :)

    Book recommendations for winter break. Well, I don’t know all of what you have read, but Where the Stars Still Shine by Trish Doller and Fangirl are good books I’ve picked up recently! The second is about adjusting to college life, so you might be able to relate to that one a lot.

    I look forward to more of your post next year! Would love to hear more about the college life. Also, I wish you a Merry Christmas!

    • I hope that with time you make yourself a resident of this blog, not just a guess. (: Falling over and having handsome boys help you up is definitely a seduction tactic I approve of – and it’s always great to keep in mind the positives in any situation.

      I just added Where the Stars Still Shine to my to-read list, and I have Fangirl waiting for me on my Kindle. When I was in high school I liked reading about other people’s accounts in college as well so I hope this blog maintains your interest!

      Thank you for your comment, your compliment, and your book recommendations! I hope you had a great Christmas and I wish you the best for this upcoming year.

  11. Congrats on 3 yrs blogging and finishing your first semester in college! Sounds like you are keeping super busy but still having fun. And yes, you do look better in heels than I ever would.

Leave a Reply

