Things Fall Apart by Chinua Achebe

Cover via Goodreads

 

Rating: 3/5 stars.

By page 39 of this book, I was 99% sure that it would be receiving one star.

Oh, how I hated the beginning portion of Things Fall Apart. It’s funny because the reason I despised it so much was how utterly unsympathetic and unbecoming Okonkwo was. There is a reasonable amount of room for debate concerning if Okonkwo’s behavior is justified, but for me, the answer is a plain and simple no. The humorous part is that his violent and aggressive character provoked a similar emotion from myself, in that I wanted to mutilate and severe his limbs for the way he treated his family – and yet, his extreme brutality was what catalyzed my dislike of him in the first place. Hm.

As much as I wanted to rate this book poorly, there is an undeniable lesson to be learned and the latter half of the book actually surprised me with its symbolic beauty. Obviously not the best book I have read in school, but it gave me a lot to think about.

Leave a comment

Filed under 3 stars, Book Reviews, Books

Leave a Reply

