An Addiction to Myriad

Myriad (noun): a very great or indefinitely great number of persons or things.

I wish I had the “myriad” of books pictured above. Instead, I only have this…

I know, it’s horrible. I am supposedly a bibliophile, so I should have garnered more books by now… great, I have another word that is the opposite of myriad, but still starts with an m. Meager! Like my meager supply of books. Gr.

Back to the topic, I have been over-utilizing the word myriad lately. (Side note: it can also be an adjective). Here’s how a typical conversation involving the word myriad goes…

Me: Did you study for our math test today?

Friend: What!? No! We have a test today!?

Me: Yes. You should have seen the myriad of things I did to prepare. I practiced a plentiful – wait, no, a MYRIAD of proofs.

Friend: Oh no… I’m going to fail!

Me: Don’t fret. There are a myriad of things you can do to help your grade recover.

Friend: …

5 Comments

Filed under Words

5 responses to “An Addiction to Myriad

  1. Pingback: One Year Anniversary of the Quiet Voice! | the quiet voice

  2. Ah yes, the bookshelf ,one of the best features of any home (just after the bathroom:) Yours is better off now than it was in the picture above but it’s a sad fact that I don’t have one of my own, there simply isn’t enough space for one and so I just keep my books on my desk and when I work up enough nerves I’ll show them to you.
    Hmm … I’ve never used the word ‘myriad’ before …
    Thanks for sharing:)

    • Aw, you need a bookshelf! Perhaps when you’re older and living on your own. I’m jealous of all my friends who have great, grand bookshelves… I should be thankful that I have one at all.

      You’re welcome, thanks for reading and commenting!

  3. I wish I had a bookshelf! Instead, my lovely books all reside in, ah, boxes.

Leave a Reply

