The Help by Kathryn Stockett

Cover via Goodreads

Rating: 5/5 stars.

Originally, I thought this book should have been retitled The Hype. At least that’s what I told my friend. I remember thinking something along the lines of, blah, another story about racism in the old southern days? Must be the chick-lit version of To Kill a Mockingbird. Wow. I was so wrong.

The Help details the lives of three women living in Jackson, Mississippi, right when the Civil Rights Movement began. There is Skeeter, a twenty-two-year-old aspiring writer who terribly misses her maid, Constantine. Aibileen is an experienced and knowledgeable black maid who is currently taking care of her seventeenth child, Mae Mobley, even though she realizes what’s at stake for both of them. And Minny is a fierce, sassy cook who doesn’t take nonsense from anyone, even when it risks her employment. This tumultuous trio takes the first step in sparking a movement that will ignite fire to the racism and hypocrisy of their small town.

My synopsis of the story probably isn’t even a tenth of the merit it deserves. I don’t want to spoil too much about the book, but the most amazing thing about The Help is its characters. They are so real, so lifelike, I could feel their thoughts pulsing through my head and their emotions racing through my veins. I was angry alongside them, cheered for them, and cried with them.

I think everyone should read this book, especially people who are ignorant about the racism and hypocrisy that still manages to plight everyday society. The Help wasn’t just a darn good read, but something that has made me reevaluate and examine my own morals. I’ll never forget it.

(read and reviewed in April, 2010)

Leave a comment

Filed under 5 stars, Book Reviews, Books

Leave a Reply

