A Fanboy’s Perspective of Lady Gaga’s “Born This Way”

“No matter gay, straight or bi
lesbian, transgendered life
I’m on the right track, baby
I was born to survive
No matter black, white or beige
chola or orient made
I’m on the right track, baby
I was born to be brave”

– Lady Gaga, “Born This Way”.

 

 

 

 

 

Those are my favorite lyrics from Lady Gaga’s “Born This Way” – now at six weeks as number one on the Billboard Hot 100 chart. This is Gaga’s longest-lasting single to this date, with over 24.4 million views on Youtube. I have to say that while I absolutely LOVE the message and how people are accepting the song as a whole, I feel that musically “Born This Way” is lacking compared to her previous singles.

I’m a huge Gaga fan, and I have evidence to substantiate it:
1) I sing “Just Dance” and “Poker Face” randomly and without warning.
2) I cannot discuss relationships without bringing in “Bad Romance”.
3) When someone mentions board games, card games, mind games, etc., it automatically calls for “LoveGame”.
4) I cited Gaga’s full name (Stefani Joanne Angelina Germanotta) in an article I wrote for my school newspaper.
5) I write Gaga related things everywhere: on school supplies, homework, my friends’ belongings, etc.
6) Here are where Lady Gaga’s songs stand on my IPod’s 25 Most Played List:
– “Poker Face” at #2
– “Just Dance” at #3
– “Paparazzi” at #7
– “Bad Romance” at #10
– “LoveGame” at #15
– “Telephone” at #16
– “Monster” at #25

So I can say without hesitation that I adore Gaga – if it wasn’t for those catchy K-Pop songs, “Poker Face” and “Just Dance” would be #1 and #2.

Yet, “Born This Way” doesn’t have the same addictive quality as her other songs. The song is fun to listen to, but it doesn’t make you listen to it, and by that I mean I could turn off the radio while the song is halfway through without bothering to stop for the other half. Don’t get me wrong, I REALLY LIKE the song, just not with the same intensity her past releases.

The video is also really really really really really a bit odd:

I think I get the concept, with the born this way and rebirth theme, but to me it’s truly impossible to understand the music video completely. I’ve at least liked her other music videos, but with this one, it’s more like a “I’ll just say that I like it and stick to the song itself” type of thing.

Final verdict: Love the message, like the song, accept the video. Hoping for several more hits once her album is released on May 23 (two days before my birthday!)

What do you guys think of “Born This Way”? I know a myriad of people who love everything about it, but others who abhor it.

Leave a comment

Filed under Pop

Leave a Reply

