Forge by Laurie Halse Anderson

Cover via Goodreads

Rating: 4/5 stars.

Forge was a compelling book about the Revolutionary War, specifically the events that took place at Valley Forge. The main character, Curzon, is an escaped adolescent slave who enlists in order to keep himself safe and serve a purpose.

I liked this book, but not as much as its predecessor, Chains. Generally I do not enjoy historical fiction, so the fact that I finished this book in a couple of days says something about Laurie Halse Anderson’s writing ability. She keeps things interesting but relevant to the Revolution, intertwining history and original plot development without becoming tiring.

The reintroduction of Isabel toward the latter half of the novel seemed out of place and awkward, though I loved her character in the previous book. She reveals a revelation to Curzon that isn’t further fleshed out, and their ensuing romance was rushed without explanation, especially because when they finally reunite they are angry and separated from one another.

Regardless of these problems, Forge is a great book to read for historical fiction and young-adult fiction fans alike. The extensive research performed by Anderson is extremely evident, and I am looking forward to the next installment in the Seeds of America series, Ashes.

4 Comments

Filed under 4 stars, Book Reviews, Books

4 responses to “Forge by Laurie Halse Anderson

  1. Shanybobany

    I WAS GONNA CRY!!! I thought Chains left off without finishing her plight! OH GOODNESS!!! I’m glad I looked it up :]

  2. Sianna

    I don’t know how much longer I can wait for ashes, when is it coming out and why is it taking so long to come out?

    • I’m sorry the book hasn’t come out yet, but I think it’s expected to be published in 2015! It’s great that you enjoy the series so much that you’re eagerly anticipating its return.

Leave a Reply

