“Tonight”: Enrique Iglesias Transformed

He's hot, I'm aware.

Enrique Iglesias epitomizes today’s pop music trend: Sex Sells.

Ten years ago, “Hero” was one of the hugest hits in the country. It peaked at number three on the US Billboard Hot 100 chart, and number one on the US Billboard Adult Contemporary chart. Its soulful lyrics and beautiful melody are still remembered today – heck, my uncle has it as his ring tone, and many other men who want to be ‘heroes’ probably do too. Same idea with the women who wish to be whisked away by the ‘hero’ type. This song isn’t about sex, or clubbing, or going wild at strip clubs: it’s a love song. If you don’t believe me, here’s part of the chorus:

“I can be your hero baby
I can kiss away the pain
I will stand by you forever
You can take my breath away”

Isn’t that something you want your boyfriend to say to you?

Now, ten years later, he’s utilizing heavily synthesized beats and electronically modified vocals to escalate the popularity of his songs. I’m going to focus on “Tonight”, his latest single.

“Tonight (I’m Fu***** You)”, better known as “Tonight (I’m Lovin’ You)”, has achieved notable status within the United States – on Billboard, its reached number three on the Hot 100 chart, and number one on the Hot Club Dance, Pop, and Radio song charts. The good thing about the song is that it’s catchy. Plain and simple. Pop-lovers, party-goers, and club-frequenters probably love this song, or at least its beat.

Then you get into the nitty gritty. The lyrics. You can infer by reading the title that this song isn’t about holding hands or counting flower petals. No, it’s about – well, you know what it’s about. I’ve already mentioned what it’s about in this post one time too many, and if you still can’t figure it out, it’s essentially everything “Hero” is not.

Here are the lyrics of the chorus to further my point:

“But tonight I’m loving you
Ohh you know
That tonight I’m loving you
Ohh you know
That tonight I’m loving you
Ohh you know
That tonight I’m loving you ”

I’m aware of the lack of variation within those lines. And yet this song is still being played on the radio ten times a day. Don’t get me started on the music video – that thing should be blocked from teens and children under the age of 16 (or banned in general).

No, I don’t hate Enrique Iglesias. I’m actually a fan of him and his music. I just cannot stand “Tonight”: it’s completely processed, ostentatiously sexual… does he even sing?

Image via mp3lyricsmania.com

Image via sheetmusicplus.com

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

He doesn’t look like he’s aged – it almost seems as if he’s gotten younger. As they say, some men become more attractive with time… the funny thing is that he’s old enough to be the father of some of his teenage fans (he’s 31!).

What are your thoughts on Enrique Iglesias or “Tonight”?

9 Comments

Filed under Pop

9 responses to ““Tonight”: Enrique Iglesias Transformed

  1. Nice post 🙂
    I hate the choruses they’re coming up with now; one line over and over again. And I’ve seen some of his other songs too and thought they were sweeter; I hate what image he’s creating for himself.
    Also, you’ve seen the music video and you’re under 16 😉 In fact, I’m older than you!

  2. Thanks 🙂

    I know. I suppose that makes it easier for people to learn the words and get the song stuck in their head, but I wish they expanded on the phrasing a bit. It is sad, his old image was much more romantic as opposed to meretricious.

    Exactly – I was scarred by the video, which is why I think only older individuals should watch it. Don’t rub it in, curry. (;

  3. Sarah

    It’s terrible how all the ‘popular’ music is all about sex and drugs, I sort of had respect for Enrique until this song made its debut. What happened to the 90’s and early 2000’s!?! Music was its best then!!

  4. Cara

    I gotta say I am NOT a fan of this song. It is kind of catchy but really it sends all the wrong messages.

    • I know what you mean, it’s one of those songs where you find yourself humming along to the beat until you realize what he’s actually saying. o_o

  5. I LOOOOOOVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVVEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE
    Himmmmmmmmmmm SOOOOO much ❤ ❤ xxxxxxxxxxxx

  6. Pingback: “Dirty Dancer” – Why Enrique Iglesias, Why? | the quiet voice

  7. Queen B

    Human sexuality plays a major role in everyone’s life. Regardless, whether we are young or old, man or woman, American or Japanese, it is an integral part of what we do and who we are. sexuality is the way in which we experience and express ourselves as sexual beings
    Furthermore, sexuality is an integral part of our personalities whether we are aware of it or not.

    Humans are like other animals in just about every significant physical attribute. What distinguishes us is not the structure of our cells, not the way our metabolism works, and certainly not the way we are born, live, and die. What distinguishes us is the fact that we are programmed even before we are born to learn the language and culture of our family and peers. Other animals have traces of these capacities but we are the only species to have taken language and culture and create out of them a new form of evolution, social as opposed to biological.

    soooooo like the animal in the animal kindom sexuality is primal….animals have no shame….they do it where ever they want when ever they want …it is us as humans that have made sexuality shameful and sinful….. that’s all 🙂

    • I completely agree. And we humans have good reason for making lewd acts of sexuality shameful and sinful – after all, where would we be if not for the self-imposed standards we’ve created? Humans are aware of their sexuality, I’m sure, but we take the time to do other things outside of that aspect of ourselves to make progress as a race and to benefit ourselves in other ways.

Leave a Reply

