Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte

Cover via ariadneowl.blogspot.com

Rating: 5/5 stars.

Amidst exams and schoolwork it took me almost two weeks to finish this book – not only because of external forces preventing me to read, but because of its strange structure. The beginning confused me to the point that I disregarded it until later on in the novel, and some of the dialogue (well, Joseph’s dialogue) I didn’t bother to read.

I loved Wuthering Heights, despite its minor problems. Mainly because of the passion. Oh, how I loved the passion. Heathcliff’s convoluted cunning, Catherine’s crazy schemes, and how the ending brought everything back full circle – it was everything a romance should be.

Even though I disliked certain aspects of how the story was told, I enjoyed Nelly Dean’s narrative. Emily Bronte shows her sheer genius by inventing a character that can be neutral between the houses, yet able to possess bias that didn’t detract from the story itself. The cyclical structure of the book reminded me of John Steinbeck’s East of Eden, another book that I loved.

Leaning toward a 4.5, but because it’s a classic I’ll just go with a five. Not to mention that I interrupted a conversation with my friend after reading a certain chapter of this book to scream “the passion! the passion!” in a mock-psychotic voice.

Leave a comment

Filed under 5 stars, Book Reviews, Books

Leave a Reply

