Personality Tests and My Personality

Everyone reading this has probably taken a personality test at least once in their lives. Whether it be to determine what career suits you, your ability to adapt to new situations, or what character of your favorite TV show you’re most similar to. The majority of these tests give you bad results. And by bad, I don’t mean this:

Image via Cyanide and Happiness

I mean bad as in inaccurate. This is the due to a lack of proper questioning techniques, messy variables, and overly-generalized results. However, one day I stumbled upon this Facebook app called “My Personality”, which provides several personality tests ranging from the Big Five to their newest Schwartzs Value Survey. I found that the results of these tests accurately portrayed who I was, or at least who I think I am (and I’m sure several of my friends would agree). I’ll briefly summarize a couple of them and share my results.

The newest available My Personality test on Facebook is the Schwartzs Value Survey, which asks you to rate 40-60 values on a scale of how important they are to you – with the least important being “Opposed to my values” and the highest level of importance being “Of supreme importance”, and seven levels in between. Some of the values include equality, family security, social justice, authority, and pleasure. After filling in all of your answers the test then organizes your responses into 10 overarching values, with #1 being the most important and #10 being the least.

My top three values were benevolence, achievement, and universalism, while my lowest three values were hedonism, tradition, and power. As a compassionate nice guy who strives for equality for all, I can see where this is coming from.

This is a great cause, you should check it out. (image via hrc.org)

Another My Personality Test that I take monthly is the Big Five Personality Questionnaire, which is similar to that of the Schwartzs Value Survey as you rate things based on importance. The difference is that you rate statements on a scale of accuracy, ranging from “Very Inaccurate” to “Very Accurate” with three levels in-between. Examples of statements are “I have a vivid imagination” or “I hold a grudge”.

You can also change the number of statements you rate – you can do as little as twenty or as high as 336. I usually stick to 100. Afterward, they analyze your responses and separate them into five personality traits: openness, conscientiousness, extraversion, agreeableness, and neuroticism. You can find more information on what each of these mean here. Each trait receives a raw percentage from 0% to 100% that corresponds to how well it relates to you.

My results didn’t surprise me: Openness, 79%, Conscientiousness, 73%, Extraversion, 50%, Agreeableness, 69%, and Neuroticism, 54%. What really interested me was my Jungian Typology Estimate:

INTJ

Introverted iNtuitive Thinking Judging

INTJs are very analytical individuals. They are more comfortable working alone than with other people, and are not usually as sociable as others, although they are prepared to take the lead if nobody else is up to the task, or they see a major weakness in the current leadership. They tend to be very pragmatic and logical individuals, often with an individualistic bent and a low tolerance for spin or rampant emotionalism. They are also commonly not susceptible to catchphrases and commonly do not recognize authority based on tradition, rank or title. Hallmark features of the INTJ personality type include independence of thought, strong individualism and creativity. Persons with this personality type work best given large amounts of autonomy and creative freedom. They harbour an innate desire to express themselves; that is to be creative by conceptualizing their own intellectual designs. Analyzing and formulating complex theories are among their greatest strengths.

And similar to the values test, the summary above (taken directly from the Facebook app), describes me perfectly. It’s kind of scary and cool at the same time. Sort of like when I realized I didn’t do my homework but I didn’t really care. Just kidding, I always do my homework. Because I’m a flamboyant nerd.

So now that you’ve gotten to know me through the results of these two tests, I’d like to get to know you too! (ignore how creepy that may have sounded) Seriously though, what do you guys think of personality tests? Totally bogus? Sometimes true? Always accurate?

By the way, here’s the link to the MyPersonality page where you can take some of the tests I’ve described. I’ve never completed one through the website itself because I’ve utilized the Facebook app, which is helpful because it tracks your results over time.

Finally, it’s my birthday tomorrow! Expect a little personal update… if I don’t stuff myself too full of cake I can’t get to the computer. (:

*edit, May 27: So after taking the Jungian typology test another time, I think these results may be a little more accurate:

INFJ

Introverted iNtuitive Feeling Judging

INFJs are conscientious and value-driven. They seek meaning in relationships, ideas, and events, with an eye toward better understanding themselves and others. Using their intuitive skills, they develop a clear vision, which they then execute decisively to better the lives of others. INFJs regard problems as opportunities to design and implement creative solutions. INFJs are champions of the oppressed and downtrodden. They often are found in the wake of an emergency, rescuing those who are in acute distress. INFJs may fantasise about getting revenge on those who victimise the defenceless. The concept of ‘poetic justice’ is particularly appealing to the INFJ.

Isn’t it funny how depending on a certain circumstance your personality can change?

7 Comments

Filed under Personal

7 responses to “Personality Tests and My Personality

  1. Shannon

    I LOVE personality tests! I’m always trying to get other people to take them too. I realize that they’re not always right, and that you can’t stick people in limiting categories and say that’s strictly them, but I think they can really give you insight into your personality and make you feel good about yourself.
    Also, it’s fun to take them with other people, and talk about them. It’s so cool to see how different people are, and how we all have our special qualities.
    By the way, I’m an INFJ. 🙂

    • I agree – like it says on the MyPersonality page, these tests “serves as a tool to assist you in determining your [personality] type.”

      That’s so cool, because I just retook the test and even though my raw percentages barely changed I’m now an INFJ instead of an INTJ. I guess we’re similar then! 🙂

  2. Wow, it’s not often that the peripheral education I have to endure in college makes an appearance in everyday life, but I just finished taking a Psychology class in college.

    While most of the personality tests on Facebook are pretty bogus, “The Big Five” is actually a big deal in Psychology. The acronym for it is O.C.E.A.N, which stands for the Openness, Conscientiousness, Extraversion, Agreeableness, and Neuroticism (emotional instability) you noted above. There was actually a test in my textbook with a panel of 10 “questions”. It basically said I see myself as: and listed words like Anxious/Easily Upset, and then you apply a value to that term from 1 to 7, 1 being strongly disagree. Then there’s a solution at the bottom to calculate your score in the different areas. My professor said that, silly as it sounds, it has been incredibly accurate, and she said there is at least ONE test on Facebook that employs it effectively.

    Most tests give me crap answers, but there have been a few that really struck gold. There was this one I took back when I still used myspace (oh dear god, I feel old just saying that. I had a Xanga too, one upon a time) that had a series of traits with two terms on each end of a horizontal line, one being an extreme positive (positive meaning more of it is present, not that it’s necessarily good) and an extreme negative (negative meaning less of it is present, resulting in a different personality trait). I remember distinctly that I scored unusually high in hypersensitivity, and at that time in my life that was incredibly true, I was very easily made upset and very sensitive to the things that were said to me.

    Anyway, an overly simple conclusion to this response?

    Personality tests are fun. 🙂

  3. I’ve taken so, so, so many Myers-Briggs tests, and I’ve always come out as INTJ. Possibly sheds light on my many chaotic posts =____=

    I agree that you are probably an INFJ, because you describe yourself as “compassionate nice guy.” And INTJs are NOT compassionate in the traditional sense at all. If it is logical to act compassionately, then INTJs will act that way, but compassion is not the guiding force in our lives. 😄

    Michelle

    • Yes yes yes! I’ve made quite a few INTJ friends in the past year, and they do remind me of you. They are extremely logical, but also caring and bright and beautiful people in their own right. (:

  4. Ron

    I learned the only pesonality test that really matters and should be taken seriously is one’s own assessment of themselves. I was told that I was an introvert, which I am, at an early age and this was not normal. I was classified by family and teachers and it was suggested quite often that I had or this was some sort of problem. I simply was not interested in what other kids were doing, but grew up thinking I had some sort of terrible personality defect. I was just not interested in playing cowboys and Indians, or fort, or hide and seek or whatever the other kids were into. But I could rewire a lamp and repair a flat tire on by bike at age 8, something the other kids had no clue about. I made my first stereo at age 11, and tapped into the cable television system, change a tire on a car by 12. I could even cook simple meals. At least my ‘personality defects’ do not prevent me from signing my employees paycheques every second Friday. Took a long time, but i finally learned that other’s assessments of me are of no importance. (I am not a spam bot, I can not enter the underscore in my email address for some reason)

    • I see what you’re saying. Society can misconstrue certain facets of one’s personality. I’d say that you were gifted and precocious, actually, not defected or unhealthily abnormal at all. What you learned to do at quite a young age and what I’m assuming you’re capable of doing now are indeed impressive, no matter what anyone labels it as. I guess what I’m trying to say is that as long as you are aware of how awe-inspiring you are, then that’s all that matters!

      Thanks for reading and commenting. (:

Leave a Reply

