Misinterpretations

So I’ve been somewhat absent and probably will continue to be for this upcoming week due to exams. Don’t misinterpret me though, it’s not like I’ve quit blogging or anything – I’m just busy.

Speaking of misinterpretations, have you ever had that moment where you realize that something you’ve said or something you’ve done may have come off the wrong way, but it’s too late to change it? Like one time I wrote a note to my friend asking if he wanted to hang out, and somehow the meaning of the note became misconstrued to the point where he assumed I was asking him on a date. And my friendship with him ceased to exist from that point on…

Gotta love Cyanide and Happiness.

The true reason I decided to make misinterpretations the topic of this post is that recently I’ve been a bit stressed out. I’m a very, very, very nice guy – just ask any of my friends, they’ll tell you (wait… I have friends?) However, when stress starts to build up I can get a little snippy and sarcastic. But only a little bit! Like instead of saying “please pass the ketchup”, I’ll say, “does it look like I have time to dip this french fry in non-existent tomato sauce!? Hand over the ketchup, freak.” Kidding! That’s something Scarlett O’Hara would say, not me. (yes… I’m reading Gone with the Wind. Longest. Book. Ever. But not bad, actually.)

Anyway, have you ever had someone misinterpret you? I think people are assuming I’m slightly sardonic, but it’s only because of the four killer exams I have this week. Then again, after re-reading my posts about why high school relationships fail, it might not be just the exams.

4 Comments

Filed under Personal

4 responses to “Misinterpretations

  1. that’s really unfortunate about the friend. How can he be your friend if he misunderstands and doesn’t want to reconcile? 😦

    Hmm, I am very blunt and I often say things with a straight face, so most people don’t know if I’m joking or not. However, I only say these sorts of things to my friends, who are used to it, so if you they don’t understand (often), they’ll ask!

    good luck on your exams ^^
    Michelle

    • I know, the worst part (or the best part, depending on how you look at it) was that he moved shortly afterward, and thus everyone including myself forgot about it – I remembered the instance while writing this post. I’m sure he’s forgotten about it, thank goodness.

      Ha, one of my best friends is rather blunt as well, it’s come to the point where I take everything she says at face value and if it comes off as seriously shocking, then I’ll ask.

      Thank you! 🙂

  2. Scala

    Same. I’m not a very sociable person when I’m stressed, or when I lacked some sleep. They know I’m not the kind that gets easily pissed off and rude when they tease me. Even my killer glare doesn’t usually work whenever I’d want to get back at them. But then my friends just know it when I’m in a terrible mood. And they just back off once they see the symptoms. They should know that I just need some rest. Haha!

    • Yep, that’s why it’s always good to have friends who understand you. 🙂 The only bad thing is when you always don’t catch enough sleep, then you’re in an irritable mood a lot and that’s no fun for anyone. Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

