“I’m Into You” – J-Lo’s Got It

“When I look into your eyes it’s over, you got me hooked with your love controller…”

Jennifer Lopez’s song “I’m Into You” is much better than her previous single, “On the Floor”. Besides being catchy, it has a unique feel and stands out as something other than a club song. “I’m Into You” shows that successful pop stars can continue to be successful pop stars into their 40’s. There are some things that could be changed about it but more on that later.

I mean, did you see her body? I suppose most males would think that it is quite aesthetically appealing. (aka, they think she’s hot)

No, I'm not jealous of J-Lo's body or her dancing ability... not jealous at all...

William Levy doesn’t hurt either. His presence adds an inviting impetus for females and other individuals such as I to watch the video. (aka, he’s hot too)

His bulging muscles reminded me of that boxer from Katy Perry's "Teenage Dream" video... though I don't mind Levy's muscles, if you know what I mean.

I much preferred seeing William Levy in the music video as opposed to Lil’ Wayne, whose rap contributes essentially nothing to the song. I don’t know what’s the big deal with pop songs by female artists featuring rappers lately, but in a lot of songs it hasn’t benefited either party (“E.T.”, anyone?) The only line that kind of works is “every finish line is the beginning of a new race” – though it doesn’t fit the song itself, like the rest of his rap, it does serve as a good transition into Lopez’s part.

Some of the lyrics confused me as well. First and foremost, what is a love controller? I’m assuming it’s not like a disco stick or anything of that sort, but it’s still up in the air. Also, what is “the cyon”? Lopez sings “sharp shooter you can call me the cyon”, and while I originally thought she said “you can call me desire”, I was proved wrong after researching the lyrics. But when I googled “cyon”, the only notable results pertained to a phone. Is she blatantly advertising through this song, or is this some allusion I’m unaware of?

The random tribal dance scene is a little out of place, but it doesn't detract too much from the video.

I watched this video for the first time a few days after it came out in May, and I didn’t think it was too noteworthy – I decided to write this post because of the song’s recent popularity. Overall, it’s a good song that will climb the charts and the music video offers attractive models posing/frolicking in an enticing setting.

Is there a reason why William Levy is running up and down the beach? Probably not. Do people seem to care? Nope. Just look at those back muscles...

2 Comments

Filed under Pop

2 responses to ““I’m Into You” – J-Lo’s Got It

  1. Richard Le

    She’s saying Zion, not “cyon”, but it still doesn’t make much sense.

Leave a Reply

