My Thoughts on Lee Joon… I mean, HyunA’s “Bubble Pop”

Five million views in five days, almost nine million views in two weeks. Quite an accomplishment for a K-Pop music video.

Now, I know what you’re thinking. The video is only garnering views because guys enjoy ogling HyunA’s oh-so-hot body. That may be true, but I think we’re forgetting something… or rather, someone.

If only we were shown Lee Joon getting out of the pool – imagine water droplets cascading down his shirtless body. Excuse me while I squeal in a corner…

Now that that’s out of the way, back to business.

Here’s a question: what if HyunA had not acted so meretriciously in the “Bubble Pop” music video? No seductive faces, revealing clothing, or dirty dancing? What if she had simply frolicked around innocently in plain attire while poking bubbles?

I think that would’ve been boring. Partially because of the song itself – “Bubble Pop” is cute and catchy, I’ll give it that, but it’s not cute and catchy enough to make a lasting impression (like “Oh”, by SNSD). It’s the type of song that you could listen and sing along to when you hear it on the radio, but immediately forget about afterward. The people who produced the music video probably realized that, and were left with two choices. Either they create a typically “fun” video, or they make something so shocking in its sexuality that it pushes people to see what HyunA’s “Bubble Pop” is all about.

This might be the only scene in the entire music video that has bubbles in it. Not surprising.

Of course they went with the second option. K-Pop is quite a competitive industry and people have to make sacrifices in order to succeed. I wonder if HyunA is hurting on the inside behind the fierce face she shows during performances. While one may argue that we will never know whether she regrets the things she does on stage and in her music videos, if it were me, I would hate being known for my booty-shaking instead of my talent.

I’m not encouraging or condoning her behavior, however. I don’t like watching her place her hand between her legs, nor do I ever want to see a beautiful young lady like her have to excessively flaunt her body to achieve fame. I just think people shouldn’t hate her or say unnecessarily mean things about her. How would you feel if you were in her position?

What do you think of “Bubble Pop”? Love it or hate it? Do you empathize with her or do you think she deserves criticism?

His smile pops my bubble 100%. Take that as you will.

Oh, and here’s a link to a live performance of “Bubble Pop”. Lee Joon is in it, and let’s just say I prefer him dancing the chorus. Sorry, HyunA.

Edit July 21, 2013: Also, just wanted to add that I do not condone slut-shaming or anything of that nature. After two years and two days my mindset has changed somewhat – if Hyuna wants to shake it, she should be allowed to do so no matter what. Haters gonna hate.

22 Comments

Filed under K-Pop

22 responses to “My Thoughts on Lee Joon… I mean, HyunA’s “Bubble Pop”

  1. aww have you ever watched Lee Joon in variety shows? .___. I really liked him at first and then I was like.. nope, never mind! XD

    • I’ve only seen him dance, but not much else. Besides his attractiveness in this video I’m not that impressed by him. What made you change your mind about him?

      • it’s his jokes ;___; they all started getting very cocky. He was in Ninja Assassin as the younger version of Rain, and he ALWAYS brought that up T___T so then I was like, ugh. though I have to say, Onew’s Donald Duck is starting to annoy me. He must have done it 30+ times in variety shows..

        Michelle

  2. Oh, I see. I feel somewhat bad for K-Pop idols because unlike American Pop stars they have to go on variety shows and entertain there as well as through their music… and thus they have to recycle a lot of material, which can get annoying to viewers (and probably tiresome for them, too). I’ll keep an eye out for Joon’s jokes though…

  3. Lee Joon sarang

    Love lee joon<3 he is funny, cute, adorable, really nice and not just good looking. get over yourselves.

  4. LOL I watched it cuz of Lee Joon and the dance steps are kinda cool too
    It’s just a super catchy song (apart from when the remixed-is-this-trying-to-b-dupstep/jump/alien came up)

  5. elyseksommer

    Hi,
    In terms of Hyuna I would say I don’t hate her but I don’t love her. I do agree that she pushes the sexy image too far ( that’s kind of the company’s fault) and Bubble Pop just didn’t do her justice. Personally, I disliked the song despite it’s catchy-ness maybe because I always leaned towards songs that had more of a meaning. I do think she’s is really funny and cute and wish she was not hated so much. On the other hand, I love Lee Joon and he’s just hilarious. Just out of the blue I kinda like him with T- ara’s Jiyeon I find them cute together!
    -Elye

    • I see what you mean, I find that for most people this is not her best work. I’ve also heard people praise Lee Joon and Jiyeon together, interesting… thanks for reading and commenting, and sorry for the late reply!

  6. Catherine

    i like the dancer guy with tatoo .. wearing red jersey of Chicago Bulls .. any idea who is that?

  7. I’m just wondering..are you Korea? because you look like a korean 🙂 Although I’m an asian, I have difficulties figuring out asain’s nationality

  8. PastShin11

    You know, Hyuna is not really a bad person. She’s actually cute and nice. She’s kind and she likes kids a lot. She’s also good in rapping and dancing. It’s just that their company (Cube Entertainment) give her an image of a sexy kind of girl, which is a total opposite of her true personality. Try watching one her her videos while dancing, she’s really good. But the company didn’t showcase her talent in dancing instead they showcased her ‘sexiness’ that made her gain haters.
    Watch this, this is a dance of Hyuna with Jay Park: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=r2QURd0mGps&feature=related
    This one also, this song is titled ‘The Words I don’t Want to hear’ it is sung by Hyuna and Hyunseung:http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GeFgyrjkHng&feature=fvwrel
    And this one, this is a video clip of Hyuna calling her grandmother, it shows her that she’s a really nice girl, she accepts her own mistakes, watch it and you’ll understand her somehow: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vjnCmEaaOGU
    I hope that you’ll share this with everyone who dare to call Hyuna a slut of a b*tch, please think first before you act. You might hurt Hyuna if keep on saying bad things to her. Thanks for reading this comment, I hope that you’ll watch the videos that I provided.

    • Ah, I sympathize with you completely! I agree that you shouldn’t be too quick to judge someone simply based off of their image in the media. I don’t know Hyuna too well, but with the evidence you’ve provided it is clear she possesses talent and heart. On a random note, the first part of her dance video was quite similar to a routine on one of my favorite TV shows, “So You Think You Can Dance?”

      Thank you for reading and commenting!

  9. kristine

    who is the guy wearing a red bulls jersey? i catch myself rewinding to his part of the video. 😀

  10. HelloHwaitingBuhBye

    Thomas Hello. On the issue of Hyuna’s criticism or hate: it pains me so much to think anyone could slut shame anyone or hate on someone technically they don’t know. And the hate is quite strong. Many people hate her…. and it’s like Hyuna has become an easy target. I think in all honesty life shouldn’t be so serious. Yes, I’ll be honest some things are a bit iffy… and I feel Cube doesn’t make it better.. but then if Hyuna loves what she is doing then why can’t people let her be. I’m a hardcore Hyuna fan now because the more hate made me love her more. (I think I’m rambling now..) Anyway.. I liked the song.. most of the MV was good, but hate isn’t deserved in my opinion.

    PS. Thomas you seem like a genuinely kind honest person.. and also…. just saying.. but you’re good looking btw…. Chào Thomas

    • Hi! I agree – I edited my post (which was written and published over two years ago) just to reflect my “newer” views: even if people don’t think Hyuna is the most talented artist for her dancing, she should be allowed to do so without any hate. We shouldn’t castigate her for what Cube may be making her do or even if she wants to do it herself. She can dance or perform how she wants to and we can look away if we don’t like it.

      Thank you for your comment and for your compliments! Much appreciated.

      • HelloHwaitingBuhBye

        ^.^ You’re such a cool guy… (I technically don’t know you) But you are.. (I’m not sure if this is appropriate here) but I read you want to do Psychology and Sociology, correct me if I’m wrong, I just wanted to know someone else’s thoughts about it because I was thinking of doing Psychology too….

        …maybe I’m asking the wrong person at the wrong place… Ha sorry…

        Ehmm have you got any other posts? Not sure how to navigate here…

        Bye.

        • HelloHwaitingBuhBye

          Uhmmm scrap the last bit of my comment… I just realised you wrote all of the posts…. ~Nice blog. 🙂

          • Ha ha yep, I’ve written all these posts! And what about psychology or what area of it would you like to discuss? It’s such a variegated and exciting field. (:

Leave a Reply

