Anorexia – A Luxury Disease? Heck No.

Image via 101healthsolution.com

Have you ever been so angry that you couldn’t find the words to express your emotions? I haven’t. Honestly, I rarely get upset. Irritated and annoyed, maybe. Angry, no. I’m not a fan of anger. I find it immature. Impractical.

I’m upset.

I was reading an article I found online. I won’t divulge what article, but I will admit I was enjoying it until the author alluded to anorexia. He called it a luxury disease.

He had his reasons. Slavery, starvation, safety against terrorists – I get it. Those are big issues. There are a lot of problems plaguing this world, and it’s impossible to name all of them or attribute them levels of importance. Which is why I was offended when I read something along the lines of “at least they have food! It’s their choice to starve themselves…”

Eating disorders such as anorexia are body-damaging and life-threatening (for more information on anorexia and how to help, click here). Not only do victims of this illness refuse to eat, but they rebuke their body’s natural instinct to survive. That’s one reason why I find this disease disturbing, and it troubles me that people don’t take it seriously.

When you’re hungry, you eat. You usually don’t even think about it, unless you’re dieting (you’re still eating, though). If you’re anorexic, you learn to live with hunger and to let it consume you to the point where being hungry is a sign of strength – of perseverance. Self-starvation in order to secure a skinny body. It’s just not right.

If you’re currently suffering from anorexia or you know someone that is, here’s a helpful website. You can also leave a comment or message me – I have experience with anorexia and I know how good it feels to shed those pounds, but trust me, it’s not worth it in the end.

I apologize if this post is rather unconventional, it was a spur of the moment thing. But I meant every word I wrote.

Image via disorder.org

5 Comments

Filed under Society

5 responses to “Anorexia – A Luxury Disease? Heck No.

  1. Conventional or not, you shouldn’t apologize, this is a very serious topic.
    I sort of have this problem, though I feel hungry sometimes I still don’t feel like eating at all, or maybe it’s just me being lazy to get something. I’ve been told that I need to lose some weight but I want to be honest to the both of us, I wouldn’t starve myself for that purpose, I shouldn’t be wanting to starve at all.

    Enough about me. I still try because it’s true that there are the less fortunate out there who would have been grateful for what we have. In a way I see anorexia as being selfish in the sense when someone is purposefully depriving themselves of something so essential when others,as I’ve mentioned before, need the very things.Get what I’m saying? It’s stupid really and I don’t know what else to say.

    • Yeah, I see what you mean… I suppose those who are suffering from anorexia should not be forgiven completely, but I don’t think they’re being “selfish” exactly. Agree to disagree?

  2. Okay, I’ll agree. That particular word didn’t exactly help to get my thoughts across.

    I’ll tell you though, I’m sure you’ve seen the book ‘Van Damian at 17’ around Goodreads, the main character, Kara, turned me off a bit from reading further. You see, she was anorexic and one of her host parents tried to help her face it but Kara herself denied it(until the very end) and paints us this picture of the said parent that makes us want to sympathize with her but I didn’t. Actually, I didn’t like Kara much.

    Like many other things there’s help for those who are willing, that is, if some (like Kara) can face that they have a problem in the first place.

    Sorry for the mini-rant.

    • I actually haven’t heard of that novel, but I get the gist of what you’re saying. Your comment has actually inspired a new blog post I’ll write in the future about an idea I’ve been thinking about, so thank you.

      I suppose that one should feel sorry for and empathize with Kara, but you’re right that just being anorexic does not justify her refusal to attain help. It’s difficult to get out of denial but it’s an important step in improving oneself and facing problems in one’s life.

      Don’t apologize, your comments always make me think and I appreciate that. (:

Leave a Reply

