The Throne of Fire by Rick Riordan

Cover via Goodreads.

Rating: 4/5 stars.

This book doesn’t really deserve a full four stars, but because I’m such a lenient reviewer nice guy I’ll stick with this rating.

I do have a reason for giving The Throne of Fire four stars, though my personal reading experience warrants a three or 3.5. It’s because this book is just so good for a certain type of reader, the type that would much rather be playing Xbox or watching mind-numbing television. I’m sure you know who I’m talking about. They’re referred to as “reluctant readers”, but I like to call them by their shorter and sweeter name.

Boys.

I kid, I kid. I actually dislike it when people assume I don’t enjoy reading because I’m male. I also dislike it when people assume I enjoy watching football because I’m male, but that’s beside the point. The thing is, Rick Riordan knows how to write a great book for boys. He did it with Percy Jackson and the Olympians, and he’s doing it again with the Kane Chronicles.

The plot of this book is so entrenched in action that readers of all ages will have difficulty putting it down. Rick Riordan’s writing is pretty tight, too, which is one reason why I prefer pre-teen males to read his books as opposed to scanning graphic novels or playing video games. If you don’t know this about me already, I have a penchant for reading chick-lit and romance novels – so the fact that I got through this The Throne of Fire speaks for itself.

This book had serious flaws though. There were a lot of unnecessary attempts to evoke humor. For example, when the protagonists encountered enemies the author would throw in a “funny” observation that fell flat (like, wow, that thing is really ugly… really ugly). Another problem I had with this novel was that Sadie and Carter never really lost a battle – sure, they would be drained of magic or tired from casting spells, but something would happen to make them revitalized and ready to go a couple of minutes later.

As for the romance… well, let’s just say I’m glad Rick Riordan is sticking to adventure/action books. Though I am slightly interested in Anubis because of his sad, sad eyes (which were mentioned about a thousand times throughout the book… okay, that’s a small hyperbole).

Overall, a good book. It took me some time to finish because I’ve been busy and I lost interest a little during the middle section, but that won’t happen to everyone.

5 Comments

Filed under 4 stars, Book Reviews, Books

5 responses to “The Throne of Fire by Rick Riordan

  1. Hmm…I dislike it when “people” assume that “people” who watch tv or play video games are lesser than other “people”

    >_>

    • I agree. Though if you’re implying that’s what I think, it isn’t – I was merely stating that I prefer people to be reading and that Rick Riordan’s books push boys in that direction.

  2. I totally agree with your rating! I had such a hard time getting through the book that ended up not finishing it. The tryhard humour just didn’t do it for me. I really liked his Heroes of Olympus book though.

  3. Alex

    Since I’m procrastinating and pretending that I don’t have an exam in a few hours, I’ve been reading random blog posts and I came across this review and I’m happy to know that you’re a Rick Riordan fan as well. I thought this one was much better than the first once since it was much more interesting (and I think the dwarf god is probably one of my favorites) but it did fall flat at times, and sometimes the main characters get on my nerves. Personally, I like Percy Jackson and the Heroes of Olympus soooooo much more! I think they’re much better written, especially Heroes of Olympus.
    Are you excited for the The Serpent’s Shadow to come out?

    • Yeah, the majority of people are lean towards Percy Jackson and the Heroes of Olympus. And I am somewhat excited, although when it does it will have to wait in a long line to be read…

Leave a Reply

