Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

Cover via Goodreads.

Rating: 4/5 stars.

I’m about six months late reading this book, and considering that the majority of my Goodreads friends have read it (and loved it), I doubt my review will make much of a difference as to whether or not you read this book. But, what the heck, why not?

Stephanie Perkins’ writing is fluid. Anna and the French Kiss has a cohesive quality that is arguably the strongest aspect of the book – I started this book on the beach and I finished this book on the beach. You’ll feel inclined to continue to the next chapter, and the next chapter, and the next…

But nothing really stood out to me. I enjoyed the descriptions of Paris, Anna’s struggle to acclimate herself to a new environment, and of course, the romance – but none of that wowed me. I actually thought Anna was a little vapid, though other readers complimented her ordinariness.

A perfect fluff romance novel that’s too much on the safe side for a five-star rating from me. I do recommend it, however.

3 Comments

Filed under 4 stars, Book Reviews, Books

3 responses to “Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins

  1. Merris

    its surprising how fast you glide from one book to another. I just read one of your book reviews yesterday, and wasn’t expecting more for probably the next 2 days, and lo and behold, another one just popped on my computer screen today..lol How long would it take for you to finish a book anyway? do u usually jot down the unfamiliar vocab words down to learn? How do u usual practice your writing skills? I’m sorry if I’m being a little strange asking you these questions, but u see I’ve been reading your blog for awhile and the book reviews that u wrote were amazingly intellectual and in-depth. I’m pretty amazed by it. (English is my second language and u can see why i’m a bit hyper bout it). 🙂

  2. I’m sorry for the inundation of reviews lately – this year I actually haven’t been reading as much as I want to because of school and other activities. I went on a cruise last week and read a lot to catch up, which is why I’ve been posting reviews more frequently.

    As for your first question, it takes me a couple of days to finish a fiction novel and three or four days to a week to finish a nonfiction book or a classic. It all depends on how busy I am, though – once this school year begins my free time will be severely reduced. 😦

    Thank you so much for complimenting my reviews! To be honest I learn most of my vocabulary simply from reading, but I have on occasion picked up a few new words from studying SAT vocab (words necessary to succeed on a standardized exam in the USA). As for my writing skills, I do a myriad of things, most of which are obvious: completing school assignments, reading a lot (which improves my writing substantially), sometimes writing short stories, and of course, blogging.

    I’m surprised English is your second language. If you hadn’t told me I wouldn’t have guessed it. Thanks again for your kind words and for reading my blog, if you have any more questions don’t hesitate to ask. 🙂

  3. Pingback: Stephanie Perkins’ Anna and the French Kiss « Jorie's Reads

Leave a Reply

