Forgotten by Cat Patrick

Cover via Goodreads.

Rating: 2/5 stars.

Yesterday I ordered an orange mango smoothie from Starbucks. I expected to enjoy it – after all, I like oranges, mangoes, and smoothies. Yet when I tried the drink in its entirety I almost spit. That’s sort of like what happened with Forgotten, minus the spit.

Forgotten possessed a plethora of potential. It’s realistic fiction with a paranormal touch, including a love interest and a mystery. The book had so much promise, but failed to deliver any punch.

Cat Patrick’s prose is good. Too good, in a way. It reminded me of a one-note song that takes a minute to learn on the piano – simple and effortless, but lacking depth and variety. After reading the first chapter I felt like I was reading recycled copies of the same writing over and over.

I had the same issue with the characters. Don’t get me wrong, I like ordinary protagonists. But to me, there’s a clear difference between ordinary and plain boring. London landed on the latter. And while the romance between London and Luke was cute, it was also monotonous: okay London, I get it, he’s attractive. What about his personality? Does he have a personality?

The plot. Egad, the plot. There were so many holes and inconsistencies that by the end of the book I wanted to scream. The worst part is that Cat Patrick could have made Forgotten amazing – like I said earlier, this book and the idea of London’s somewhat amnesia had gargantuan potential. Patrick just didn’t do anything with it.

I suppose the ending could qualify as a “shocker”, but I was too glad the book was over to care. It’s a good thing that this book is a fast and easy read, otherwise, I don’t know if I would have finished it.

If you’ve been following me or reading my reviews for some time you probably know that it’s not often I write a negative review. It’s not something I like doing, but I have to be honest – Forgotten is a forgettable read, and a book I’ll be glad to have out of my memory. Sorry.

2 Comments

Filed under 2 stars, Book Reviews, Books

2 responses to “Forgotten by Cat Patrick

  1. Sara

    I’ve been having a hard time writing this review. I enjoyed “Forgotten” by Cat Patrick while reading it, but as it came to an end, I found myself disengaging from the plot line. Ms. Patrick is a very talented writer and I hate to put a negative vibe out there because as I said, I did enjoy “Forgotten”, but the plot line was very ambitious and I just feel like it was missing…something. I’m not quite sure what that something is though. I enjoyed the ride and would definitely recommend it despite this weird hang up of mine.

    “Forgotten” is such an interesting read and as I mentioned before, an ambitious concept. I really enjoyed watching London unravel her past without being able to access the memories locked in her mind. Ms. Patrick’s writing is splendid. She took on a lot with this novel and I think she handled it quite well. I fell in love with the characters and the romance between our heroine and Lucas. It’s just SO sweet. I absolutely love friendship based romance and this one is delightful. The book started to lose me towards the end, partially because I wanted to stay focused on Cat and her life rather than on the conflict presented. It wasn’t like Ms. Patrick’s writing wasn’t engaging (I cannot emphasize enough that this book is so well written!). I don’t know why… I’m just a weirdo.

    Seriously, this book is really interesting and a great read for anyone who enjoys a good psychological drama and/or romance. It is unlike any other book on the market right now so read it for a complete change of pace. I’m sure you’ll love it!

    Have a nice day,
    Sara

Leave a Reply

