Beauty Queens by Libba Bray

You cannot imagine the suspicion caused by this cover... Cover via Goodreads.

Rating: 5/5 stars.

I wish I had enough money to buy every girl attending my high school a copy of Beauty Queens. Actually, I wish I had enough money to buy every girl from the age of 15 to 21 a copy of this book. I bow down to Libba Bray for pulling off such a crazy concept – a plane of beauty pageant contestants crash on an island – when it could have gone horribly wrong in the hands of a less competent author.

On the outside, Beauty Queens is about an ensemble of shallow, teenaged girls surviving on an island. But, just like the girls themselves, it offers much more. Bray tackles a wide array of tough subjects like male vs. female double standards and GLBT tolerance with skillful satire and impressive honesty.

Some books you read in silence. Beauty Queens isn’t one of those books. Libba Bray holds nothing back in her upbraiding of the superficial nature of society, yet it never gets overwhelming – the humor in this book is wonderfully witty and refreshing. I laughed out loud so many times I regret not buying a copy so I could note when the funniest moments took place. Almost every other page contained a joke or wisecrack that made me smile, like when one contestant states the importance of aiding non-Americans after being asked her favorite color.

I probably haven’t done this book justice, so I’ll just tell you to go out and get a copy to read. ASAP. I had my doubts after reading and disliking Going Bovine by Bray, but Beauty Queens has placed her on my list of authors to watch out for. Definitely recommended.

6 Comments

Filed under 5 stars, Book Reviews, Books

6 responses to “Beauty Queens by Libba Bray

  1. I enjoy your reviews very much. But from now on, you must limit yourself to books my library actually HAS! Which means anything from before 2009. I must find this book.

  2. Aah! Why haven’t I seen your review of this before?! I loved Beauty Queens (and reviewed it on my own blog, actually). Because of the similar premise, I thought it was going to be dark like Lord of the Flies. It wasn’t and at first that disappointed me, because I thought it would be ridiculous. But then Bray began to make some great points about feminism and whatnot. Also, Petra and Sinjin are the best.

    I’m really glad I read it. I’d tried to read Going Bovine but disliked it so much I couldn’t get through the second chapter. Have you read Bray’s A Great and Terrible Beauty? It’s fantastic.

    • Yes this book sounds like it would be similar to Lord of the Flies but Bray took it in a different direction full of humor and feminism! I read Going Bovine and didn’t like it that much either – I still need to read A Great and Terrible Beauty, thanks for the recommendation and for reading and commenting!

Leave a Reply

