My 2011-2012 School Year Resolutions

As an Asian a hard-working student, the end of summer and the beginning of the school year is an important time. Summer break is rapidly coming to a close, with only a little more than a week before school starts (September 6, for me). I figured this was a good time to write down some of my priorities – academic and non-academic – so I can come back to this post at the end of the calendar year and evaluate my failure success.

Before I forget, I’ll be a junior in high school. And you know what that means…

I'll get through these... eventually.

1. Study and succeed on the SAT, especially math. Okay, I’ve taken the SAT once already and scored decently… excluding the math section. I received a 590 (72%), paling in comparison to my performance on the reading and writing sections. I’m aiming for a 650, and people I’ve talked to say that to achieve that score only requires a lot of practice. Which brings us to #2…

The summer assignment I finally finished yesterday. Expect a review soon...

2. Stop procrastination. This is probably the most unrealistic goal on the list – I doubt anyone could completely staunch the desire to put things off until the next day, but it’s worth a shot. With three AP classes and two honors courses I’ll need to get things done as soon as possible, and hopefully after posting this I’ll at least get things done sooner than I usually do. Because when it all piles up, things turn nasty…

3. Don’t overreact. The Rapture turned out to be fake, and I bet I’ll live through 2012 and beyond. However, sometimes in my most stressed-out moments I cannot help but feel like the world is ending and everything I’ve worked for will turn into dust. It’s one of the few things I admit to inheriting from my mom: the tendency to blow things out of proportion when I’m overwhelmed. Thankfully, I’ve learned a few methods to cope with this, like focusing my attention on something else and transitioning into another activity. Speaking of activities…

4. Continue blogging. I might not be able to post daily or every other day like I have been lately, but I’ll definitely continue to post once a week or more. I love sharing my thoughts on various subjects through this blog, and I’m so appreciative of all the feedback I’ve received and the readers I’ve gained.

5. Stop self-deprecating. More on that here.

Enough about me. What are your school year/end of summer resolutions? Do we have any in common?

10 Comments

Filed under Personal

10 responses to “My 2011-2012 School Year Resolutions

  1. I’m with you on the procrastination thing. Right now, I should be working on my Math homework, but I’m here reading blogs and book reviews on goodreads. So my school year resolution is not to procrastinate!

  2. Christina

    Definitely need to stop procrastinating -__-”. Don’t think I’ll be able to though. I’m going into my last year so my biggest goal is to get accepted into an university! I still have no clue what I want to go into though…

    • Congratulations for making it that far at least. (; I think it would be impossible to stop procrastinating all together, maybe set a schedule? Like, this week I’m going to make a list of colleges to apply to, then next week I’ll start working on my application for college #1, then the week after that… you know what I mean. Small steps really help.

      Also, a lot of colleges don’t consider potential major as a part of their admissions program (actually, because you live in Canada I may be wrong about that). Still, I think you can look at other key aspects of the colleges, such as atmosphere, how expensive it is, etc. (:

  3. Teen Quirkiness

    I’m a junior this year too so, I’m studying like crazy for the ACT and SAT. And I have never taken it so I don’t know what I am likely to get. But anyways good luck with your list. 🙂

    • I need to study too, junior year really is tough. I’m sure you’ll do great, you seem very smart – the fact that you’re studying is already an indicator that you’ll score well.

      Thank you. (:

  4. windlessly

    I like resolution number 2 and 4 =D
    Junior year isn’t THAT horrific as a lot of people say, though it depends on your 3 AP and 2 honors courses. Take SAT prep gradually but constantly…. good luck!!

    • I remember you saying junior year was miserable in your blog post about your upcoming year as a senior. -_-

      But I don’t think it will be absolutely horrid either. All of my AP classes are Humanities-oriented, which is my strong point… I’m only worried for Honors Physics and Honors Precalc. 😦

      I can’t afford to take a prep class but I will study as much as I can, thanks for the wish of luck! (:

  5. Good luck with the SATs! I’m so glad Canadians universities don’t require us to take them.

Leave a Reply

