Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

My beloved and beaten-up copy of the book.

Rating: 4/5 stars.

I remember trying to read Pride and Prejudice in eighth grade. I don’t remember getting past the first chapter. To read this book requires one to invest time and effort – just like reading other classics – but the end result is ultimately worth it.

There are countless things I could praise about Pride and Prejudice, whether it be the dense yet beautiful writing, the humor, the symbolism, etc. However, I must take time to laud the characters. Fiery-tempered Elizabeth, sweet-mannered Jane, diffident Mr. Bingley, even feckless Lydia – I connected to them all. I started this book wondering how in the world would I be able to recall each of the sisters, their relatives, and so forth, yet by the end I knew the characters’ like real life friends.

I detracted a star from my rating because the beginning of the book dragged on for a little too long. Once the romance picked up by the middle of the novel I was hooked though. I interjected my own commentary while reading Elizabeth and Mr. Darcy’s more heated inter-courses, it went something like this: “Oh my gosh… oh no they didn’t! Oh my gosh, I knew it all along. Admit your love for each other! Admit it already!”

Speaking of Mr. Darcy, my friend persuaded me to get a cat when I’m older. If he’s a boy, I’m going to name him either Atticus, Mr. Rochester, or Mr. Darcy. Input would be appreciated.

18 Comments

Filed under 4 stars, Book Reviews, Books

18 responses to “Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

  1. I have never managed to get all the way through an Austen novel. But I pooped out before the romance kicked in. Maybe after NaNo is finished, I’ll try again.

    • You’re participating in NaNo? If so, good luck! I applaud you and others who are taking on the challenge.

      I do suggest trying again when you have the time, especially if you’re a romance or drama fan.

  2. I adored this book, and also connected to the characters. The humour in it was beautifully sarky and wonderfully dry. The first line is the best first line ever.
    Which do you think is the best film? I think the one with Kiera Knightley. William whatshisname was just so romantic, and not the best looking, but definitely my choice of romantic partners…
    … erm…
    The mention of Atticus suddenly made me think of something, there was a t-shirt which I (malheureusement) snorted out loud at. Noone else got it but me. The said shirt had Atticus written across it with a dead mockingbird underneath. Not the most cheerful, but a clever one. If I had a cat, I’d call him Boo. He isn’t a romantic character, but an essential one.

    • I am ashamed to admit that I actually have not watched any of the films yet, though the one with Kiera Knightley and William whatshisname is definitely at the top of my list. A lot of my friends praise that production as the best one out.

      That is a clever idea. Have you read the Caster Chronicles series by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl? One of the pets in that book is named Boo Radley, and the series itself contains my allusions to TKAM.

  3. Oh goodness, I had to read this for my summer reading for this year, and while the beginning was a pain to get through, as you said, I enjoyed it in the end. Elizabeth seemed just like a self-insert character, I could relate to her very well.

    I was just sitting there reading it like “Oh my goodness, I would do that same thing in her place!” and I think that was what kept me reading. Another tidbit is the fact that I imagined Darcy as that once actor who played Prince Caspian in the “Chronicles of Narnia” movie (I think it was the second one). I don’t know why, though.

    One thing that annoyed me, though, was the fact that their mother was such an idiot. It irked me because their father was just incompetent in raising them since he was hardly around for the girls. So technically they weren’t parented, but for the most part they all turned out relatively okay. Except Lydia, I wanted to smack her. But aside from that, we spent a bit of time talking about Jane Austen’s social commentary with the book and it really was very interesting. Normally I don’t even like romance (unless it’s some sort of Shinee fanfiction… xD) but I thought this book was a good read. I wouldn’t read it again, but it was good. Jane Austen’s style is very enjoyable.

    • I’m glad you enjoyed it for the most part! I think Elizabeth is an easy protagonist to relate to, and I do that some times with characters too (imagining them as actors from a movie… or some other random place).

      Yes, Mrs. Bennet and Lydia were both characters that I think Austen made deliberately silly. Especially Mrs. Bennet, as she provided a lot of the humor throughout the novel. Lydia was one of those “love to hate” characters, I can see why you wanted to smack her. I agree that Jane Austen’s style is fun to read.

      Hm, SHINee fanfiction… maybe I’ll try reading some of that one day. Hm.

  4. ohmygoshhh i tried reading this too!!! but i haven’t got the willingness to pick it up again…. this and wuthering heights…
    anywayyy how do you find time to readdd D: gahhh

    • Ha ha it’s okay, there are plenty of books out there that are easier to read and just as enjoyable. (:

      And I don’t… all I do during my free time is read, and I read sometimes when I should be doing my homework. But honestly homework has lessened my reading time by a lot, I used to read so much – it’s a little depressing how much less I read now. -_-

  5. “Speaking of Mr. Darcy, my friend persuaded me to get a cat when I’m older. If he’s a boy, I’m going to name him either Atticus, Mr. Rochester, or Mr. Darcy. Input would be appreciated.”

    name him Shakespeare.. you can call him “Shakes”!!!!!!! cutest nickname ever.

    ….

    aw, I’m glad you read P&P, I reread a part of Mansfield Park, and I totally agree on the dense part of the writing.. sometimes it seems like, “This person just really thinks too much” but I suppose Fanny is actually one of those introspective diehards. Maybe you should try “Persuasion” next for Jane Austen, because I get the feeling you’re a romantic.. 🙂 maybe you’ll have to add Captain Wentworth to your list of names to name your cat..

    Michelle

    • That’s a really good name, thanks for suggesting it!

      I’m glad too. I have “Persuasion” on my shelf, it’s probably the next classic I’m going to read. You’re right, I am definitely an unashamed romantic – though Captain Wentworth doesn’t sound too appealing as a cat name…

      It’s funny that you bring up Mansfield Park, I was discussing Jane Austen with a friend and the first thing he said was to avoid Mansfield Park at all costs. Hm.

      Thanks for reading and commenting Michelle!

      • I actually like Mansfield Park a lot. I think it’s Sense & Sensibility and Emma that people should avoid.. which most people love =.= I couldn’t even watch the tv drama portrayals..

        😄 I was just kidding about Shakes. I always thought it was a weird name.

        Michelle

        • That’s true, ever since I’ve read Pride and Prejudice everyone has been recommending Sense and Sensibility and Emma. You should be proud for being a somewhat nonconformist in this case. (:

          Oh… well… it’s still on the list of names. So. Thanks anyway. 😀

  6. I’ve read and re-read this classic at least five times, over more than three decades, and every time I’m intrigued by something new, and marvel afresh at the absolute mastery and genius of its rather young author.
    If pride and Prejudice rates only four stars out of five then heaven help anyone trying to attain the ultimate score!

    • It is quite amazing, now I can’t wait to reread it when I’m older.

      My ratings indicate my enjoyment of the book, not necessarily the quality of the book itself… which why it gets a four, which is still really good. (:

  7. I gave this book 4/5 on my review too 🙂 I agree with all your point. I feel like I almost need to read this novel again in order to take in more of the details. I have a feeling it’s one of those novels where each time you read it you take away something different from it.
    Have you ever read Wuthering Heights?

    • It seems like a lot of the classics are written in such a way that each reading will allow the reader to walk away with a deeper understanding of the novel.

      I have read Wuthering Heights, and I loved it. Have you?

      • Yes I have, it’s one of my favorite books to date. I love how each character is their own worst enemy, the only person standing in the way of their happiness is themselves. I also love how it shows how bad situations can get when people don’t communicate. 🙂

        • Yes! And I love how Emily Bronte managed to describe the intensity of their emotions and portray the passion they were feeling with such beautiful writing. A true classic!

Leave a Reply

