Fading Into Magic by Vone Savan

Cover via Goodreads.

Rating: 2/5 stars.

Thanks to Mr. Savan for providing me with a signed ARC of this book in exchange for an honest review.

I really wanted to like Fading Into Magic. I was looking forward to seeing the theme of fate explored, as well as the concept of fantasy fleshed out. However, my expectations were not met.

The writing in this book was simple – there was too much telling and not enough showing. The main character, Madeline, often described how she was feeling but not in a believable way. Sort of like if I were to have a horrible day and only say “this day made me sad. I felt angry because of my math test. When my boyfriend kissed me, I felt disappointed.” The prose felt lifeless and did not pull me into the story or into the characters.

I couldn’t connect to any of the characters either. I hate to admit how cheesy the romance was – after two dates Maddy and Stefan are already confessing their true love for one another – and how static the background characters were. Sure, Dara had a little spark, but the depth of her relationship with Maddy was never developed beyond just being best friends since Elementary school.

The story reeked of Twilight similarities. Some hot guy comes to the shy and innocent girl’s school, they hook up, guy actually has a dark and terrifying secret, the girl accepts it, then there’s one final showdown with the bad guys of the book.  There wasn’t much conflict in the book and when there was it was resolved too effortlessly. Also, the magic didn’t amaze me like I assumed it would – simply saying spells and having their effects simply acted out didn’t appeal to me.

Overall I would recommend this book to a younger audience, probably those from the ages 10-12. Perhaps with a better editor this story could have earned another star, but I am honestly glad to move on to another book.

2 Comments

Filed under 2 stars, Book Reviews, Books

2 responses to “Fading Into Magic by Vone Savan

  1. Hmm… Well, considering this book was written by a man but had a young girl as the main character, I can assume that Mr. Savan wouldn’t necessarily be able to put himself directly into the shoes of Madeleine. The points of view of a guy and a young girl would most likely be very different, so perhaps that’s why his ability to portray certain emotions and characters in the story fell flat.

    Also, ew, Twilight-esque things. Perhaps Mr. Savan believed that, hey, since the whole Twilight thing is such a huge craze, maybe it would be a good idea to use that as a sort of basis for the story, considering audiences eat that stuff up.

    I haven’t read the book, but from what you say of it, it doesn’t sound like something that would interest me. It seems that a lot of stuff for young adults is about romance and that sort of thing but… I’m not a romantic, so I’m just like “Do people who are in love really act this way?” So when I do read for pleasure, it’s mostly journalism books about stuff that actually happens (real life is pretty damn interesting, I have to say.)

    Anyway, I think this is my first time creeping on your book reviews. I mean, commenting… It’s good that you have a hobby like reading and reviewing books, it’s actually something that could be useful in the future. See ya, gonna go do work… I’m also behind on my story… I really should stop stalking you, but you’re too interesting.

    • Ha ha please continue “stalking” me, I don’t mind. (:

      Have you heard of The Help by Kathryn Stockett? Stockett is a middle-aged white lady but in her book masterfully writes in the voice of an aging black maid as well as a middle-aged black maid. Many authors are able to control their voice and tone to fit who they’re narrating as – another example would be Arthur Golden and Memoirs of a Geisha.

      And that’s a possibility with what you said about Twilight, though lately everyone I know who reads avidly has become sick by anything remotely Twilight-related. I don’t think all plots that are similar to Twilight are bad, but it really depends on what the author does with it in terms of character development, pacing of the plot, etc.

      Once again thanks for reading and commenting!

Leave a Reply

