You See That Rock Right There? Yep, It’s a Rock

I’m not sure if it’s the school-related stress or my intrinsic need to write or the gnawing feeling I have that I’ve abandoned my blog, but I’m going to write a quick post.

I love to ponder. To analyze. To ruminate. I even have “thinking” as one of my Facebook activities to trick people into assuming I’m deep. If one does not attempt to assess certain aspects of their lives – who they are, what their goals are, etc. – then it would be extremely difficult to lead a fulfilling life. You have to learn from your mistakes so that you don’t make them again, and you have to question things that don’t seem right to be a better person.

Yet there are limits to thinking. No matter how much you think about something, you can’t change it unless you act. Thinking allows you to attain a clearer image of your life, but what good is that image if you don’t do anything with it? Some people afflicted with depression are caught in a mental downward spiral – unable to focus on anything except the negative thoughts taking over their minds, they lose the ability to do anything besides grieve for themselves as they helplessly watch the world pass by.

Furthermore, one can over-analyze as well. I’ll use an example I haven’t brought up in a long time: child abuse. A child abuser, is, well, a child abuser. There’s no other way to look at it. Sure, the abuser might have come from a long line of child abusers so that they were born in a toxic environment, or maybe they’re suffering from a mental disease and can’t control their actions – but, no matter what, they are a child abuser. You can sympathize with the abuser, you can empathize with what they’ve gone through in their lives, whatever. They hurt kids. That’s that.

I suppose what I’m getting at is that people should face their problems for what they are as opposed to coming up with excuses for things that are clearly in their control. This reminds me of students who say that they’re intelligent but get bad grades because they’re lazy – maybe they should try harder then. And if you know someone who is bullied or has an eating disorder or cuts themselves, who cares if they don’t want help or have issues with attention? Get them help. It is what it is.

I am a firm believer that life contains many shades of gray. But some situations call for a simple, realistic perspective of black and white.

Thoughts?

By the way, two more days until this blog’s one year anniversary! I’m behind on responding to comments and what not, I promise I’ll get to it by the weekend. Also, thanks to Devina for partially inspiring this post… as well as my dad, who’s probably the most realistic person I know.

He's a ladies' man. Are you guys excited for Christmas? I was, but realized I had no friends to go shopping for...

PS: I was thinking about this a little more and I realized just how many things it applies to… and, you guessed it, I have to mention gays. I mean, these are just people who love each other, but then you throw in religion and the government and the Apocalypse and things get way more messy than they need to be. Rick Perry doesn’t even make sense when he talks about gays… but this guy does.

6 Comments

Filed under Society

6 responses to “You See That Rock Right There? Yep, It’s a Rock

  1. Rick Perry doesn’t make sense, no matter what topic he is rambling about.

  2. OH MY GOODNESS, ARE YOU ME!?

    This is basically what I explained (or at least, tried to, she may or may not have gotten it…) to my friend the other day, as well as many other times. She’s always telling me about everything that involves her and this guy at her school who she likes. She’ll tell me what happened when they were interacting, what they each said, and always asks me to help her analyze.

    Now, I’m all for taking things slow, especially since we’re in high school and relationships in high school are pretty pointless, but nonetheless, you should have fun as a youngster and live a little. But I mean come on! She’s liked this guy for about a year, he most likely likes her back, and neither of them show any signs of acting on their feelings.

    The point I’m trying to make is, while I’m a philosopher/deep thinker by nature, I won’t go and act on every impulse. I do, however, have the good sense to know how much analysis is necessary and how to act accordingly once I’ve thought things through thoroughly. (But not to the point where I dwell on it for months at a time.) We are a society that values action as compared to passivity, after all.

    • Yes I am! Just kidding, that would be strange…

      Oh, I so know how you feel. Your story reminds me of how my friend went through a pretty tough breakup a few weeks ago and how she just couldn’t get over it – I mean, yeah, it’s necessary to be sad over a break-up, but one should be able to pick up the pieces and move on with their lives in order to produce something constructive. She’s better now, thank goodness, probably because she’s a super strong person.

      It’s true that our society values action over passivity, and I respect that you have the ability to discern between over-thinking and thinking enough to help you learn from your experiences/help you in general. (:

  3. I agree. We should take the time to think. Think about ourselves, about what we want in life and how we affect others around us otherwise what’s the point of getting up everyday when you don’t know exactly what you want and what you’re going to get it? Shouldn’t we know ourselves so we’ll know what we want?

    • This is true. Even if you’re not sure what you want out of life, at least if you’ve thought about it you’ve put in the effort. I also agree that we should be aware of the consequences of our actions, especially when they affect other people.

Leave a Reply

