A Purely Personal Post in Which I Write About Books, the SATs, Life… etc.

Hi guys! I’ve decided to write this post to prove that I actually have a life, ha to share with everyone what’s going on in my life and why my updates have been so infrequent as of 2012. I really do want to write and blog and what not, but unfortunately I’ve been suffering from a severe lack of time. Trust me – whenever I have an idea to blog about, I write it on an electronic sticky note which I proceed to post on my desktop… right now, the sticky notes are starting to overlap each other. I literally cannot see my desktop background.

Evidence #1. Lack of reading time.

Respect points for Rime of the Ancient Mariner Allusion? Internet hug? Some form of a self-esteem booster? Please? Anyway...

Six days in and I'm already behind. Go figure.

So how do I put this eloquently… Oh. I got it. I WANT TO READ BUT I HAVE NO TIME. Seriously though, I have a long, long list of books waiting to be read and yet I haven’t even touched a single new book since the New Year. I haven’t even read on my Kindle yet. I feel like I’m going to lose my status as an avid reader at this rate, I mean, who struggles to finish one book a week (I’m kidding, I understand people have jobs, school, etc.)?

Speaking of books per week, my reading challenge has been set ridiculously low this year. 75 books? In 2010 I finished 146, in 2011, 86 – it’s too bad my goal in 2010 was 150 books while my goal in 2011 was 100. And even though my goal is on the small side this year I still might not be able to do it with all the other things going on in my life. This is why I feel like a pathetic loser a sense of sadness when I see how a lot of my Goodreads friends have goals of 100+ books…

What are your reading goals for this year? Do you struggle to find time to read, and if so, how do you resolve that issue? Will you please make me feel less like an illiterate baboon? Next…

Evidence #2. The SATs.

So this book has joined the ranks as one of my only, I mean, best friends.

So for those of you who are unaware I took the SAT as a sophomore in May of 2011 and scored decently, except for in the math portion, which I received an abhorrent 590 on. My plan is to take the SAT in March this year, and now I’m going to focus on the math section as I’ve already scored above 700 on the reading and the writing portions.

This plan will take a lot of time though, as I’ve decided to do 1-2 practice tests every weekend and study what I did wrong during every week leading up to the exam. Each exam itself takes a little more than over an hour of time, and to go over all of my mistakes will require a myriad of time as well. Math is like my kryptonite, but I gotta do what I gotta do.

To all of you sophomores and juniors reading this blog who live in the US, how are you preparing for the SAT? Are you not preparing? If you give me advice on the math portion, I might love you forever. Just kidding, that would be creepy.

Evidence #3. Life. Science fair, tennis, starting a book club, battling demons… okay, maybe not the last one.

Read this one first...

... and then this one.

I admit that this may be the busiest time of my life so far. I’m currently working on a Science Fair Project with my best friend (I need to stop pretending that I have friends, really) that’s due in a couple of weeks, tennis season is starting again around late February, and I’m in the process of creating a book club at my school with one of my other friends (don’t question it).

To be honest, I am feeling a little overwhelmed. The Science Fair project, while not going unwell, is causing me stress because of the sheer amount of work involved and how much that needs to be done in such a short amount of time. Once tennis starts I’ll have practice three or four hours every day, which gives me even less time to work on homework and do other things. And the book club, well, I’m actually looking forward to it – it’s going to be structured like some of the book clubs on Goodreads – but it will also consume an abundance of my time.

And yet, I know that I have an amazing life and that I should be thankful for it. The opportunity to play tennis and obtain that amount of exercise, the chance to create an actual book club at my school, and the ability to even attain books to read – I should not take for granted any of these things. Which is why I will not allow myself to succumb to stress, because I am aware of the big picture and that it won’t help to moan and groan. Rather, I should focus on getting stuff done. I need to do.

How do you deal with stress in your life? How do you manage to… well, manage everything without going crazy? I’m sure friends would help, but you know, I kind of don’t have any can’t always rely on them to help me with my work.

So, that was my astonishingly long explanation of what’s been happening lately and why I haven’t been posting. I promise I won’t become like Natalie Tran – whose videos I love, despite their rareness – I will post at least once a week, but beyond that, I cannot say. If you’ve stuck around this far, I appreciate it, and you probably have a high tolerance for dear diary type of things, which is neat. Hope you guys have a wonderful rest of the weekend and the week if I can’t get around to writing something else!

8 Comments

Filed under Personal

8 responses to “A Purely Personal Post in Which I Write About Books, the SATs, Life… etc.

  1. I think it’s important to set priorities because sometimes, it’s just not possible to get it all done. Also be sure to squeeze some time in for a little fun. There is nothing worth staying totally stressed out over. Good luck!

    • That’s true. High priorities are always better than low priorities though, because you should always aim for the best you can do. Thanks for reading and commenting!

  2. Thomas, I honestly think you’re pushing yourself too hard– that’s just my opinion. When was the last time you laid in your couch and watched a good movie, or laughed tilll your stomach hurt at a TV show? Let me just tell you that you are really smart and you are more than prepared for the SAT’s and you shouldn’t stress too much– I know that is easier said than done, but you should relax sometimes, Have fun! 🙂

    • Aw, thanks for the reassurances. (: To be honest I don’t watch TV… ever. Mostly because I prefer reading books, not because of a lack of time (well, that plays a part, too). You’re right that we all need to find some down time to just chill though. Thanks for reading and commenting!

  3. I agree with becomingcliche. And it’s not like you’re going to write SATs for the rest of your life, everything thing will get done in time and you’ll have an opening where you’ll have more time to read so don’t stress Thomas, or at least try not to.

    As for GR reading challenge you would be horrified at my goal, 20 Books, yep and no I’m not kidding because it seems like this is going to be a very busy year for me and most likely all of us. It’s bound to increase(my 20 books) later in the year when lots of the work should be over. If it helps you aren’t the only one falling back.
    You are wise to step back and look at the big picture and to realize not to take what you have for granted because you get to see how much you really have and be grateful.

    What I do to cope with stress? I usually read but since I’ve got a considerable amount of stress on my back that would be out of the question but what I’ve come to do is lock myself up in my room and cry it
    out then I’ll stop and think what’ll happen in the long term if I don’t get things done now and the disappointment that would follow. That alone get’s me attacking Math homework. But after a while it wears out so I go over the process over again minus the crying. It works most of the time for me.

    Good luck with everything you’ve set out to do in the new year, Thomas! 😀

    • Aw, Devina, you don’t need to cry – I’m sure everything will work out, like you’ve said, but then again if crying really is such a cathartic and helpful process I wouldn’t suggest stopping either. You’re right about the SATs, though in my mind if I do well on them that will allow me more opportunities to read and do other things in the future. As for your GR challenge, you’re correct in that it’s possible to pick up more time later in the year to read books.

      Good luck to you too Devina! Thank you for commenting and reading, like always. (:

  4. Wait until you hit university! Reading textbooks sucks up so much time you start forgetting read can be relaxing sometimes -.- I’m sure you’ll somehow manage your time well and find time though! I used to exercise when I stressed out but lately I’ve been eating sweets…

    • But at least at university I’ll be able to read and study subjects I’m very very interested in (well, after the first couple of years). Thanks though, and one of your resolutions should be to stop eating sweets and to work out instead if that isn’t one of them already! You can do it.

Leave a Reply

