Time to Laud Taylor Swift (thoughts on “Enchanted”, “Mean”, and “Safe and Sound”)

So I’ve been planning to write a post in defense of pop music, but after watching Rihanna’s uncomfortable music video and this gaudy music video from LMFAO, I’m not sure I can anytime soon. I like “You Da One” despite my inner grammar freak’s distaste towards its title (“it should be “You’re the One”! “You’re the One!”), but it would’ve been nice not to have been constantly exposed to Rihanna’s crotch-thrusting. As for “Sexy and I Know It”, I’m capable of comprehending why the song is catchy (its beat), but the plain raunchiness of it perturbs me. I’m glad Youtube added the age block to it, because I was scarred after seeing the first minute of that video – I don’t recommend you watch it unless you want some serious sexuality displayed on your computer screen.

How does this lead me to Taylor Swift? I’ve already sung her praises (get it? she’s a singer? anyway) in this post, but due to my lack of commentary on pop music lately, I’ve decided to publish some mini-reviews/thoughts on her latest work. I’m not her hugest fan, but I respect how she keeps her work clean yet still catchy and relatable. Not that I have anything against slightly sexual music, but there are limits – limits that were clearly broken in LMFAO’s most recent video.

Also, one of my friends is moderately-obsessed with Taylor Swift, so I hope she reads this post. She even texted me just to tell me that Taylor Swift’s perfume doesn’t smell that bad. She never, ever is the first to text, so evidently this was a big deal.

Speaking of Taylor Swift’s perfume, the commercial for that product got me hooked to this song. Enchanted, if you will.

I wrote a three/four paragraph analyzation of this commercial for my Advanced Composition class. I am not obsessed...

“Enchanted”, is, well, enchanting. It has a magical, floating feel to it – Taylor Swift’s genius lyric-writing ability shines in her verses and the chorus is like the climax of a wonderfully romantic story. The structure of this song  and the way it fits the archetypal fairytale plot is quite impressive. And, yes, I have sung this song in private and in public many times.

While the video is a little cliched, like with the feminine guy being bullied by football players, it serves its purpose well. I approve.

I honestly didn’t like “Mean” at first. Probably because it wasn’t as catchy as her more pop-sounding songs – yes, I have a somewhat shallow taste in music – and because it wasn’t played too prominently on my local radio stations. But after truly listening to the song, I grew to love it. Mostly for its lyrics, which have some of the most hard-hitting truths about mean people I’ve ever heard: “I bet you got pushed around, somebody made you cold”, “Talking over a football game with that same big loud opinion, but nobody’s listening, washed up and ranting about the same old bitter things” and how overall she sends the message that mean people, while at the moment one’s worst fear, can be overcome through one’s own hard work and perseverance. This certainly applies to people in my life as well.

I do have one small qualm, which is how Swift proceeds to attack her supposed foe by saying that he is “a liar”, “pathetic”, and “alone in life” – it seems that she is bringing herself down to his level by calling him names, but, I guess you could say that it’s simply catharsis and no big deal. Moving on.

Only about two more months and a week until the movie is released... I cannot even put my emotions into words. I just can't wait. (poster via onlinemovieshut.com)

I lied. The friend I mentioned above did text me first one other time… to tell me about Taylor Swift’s new single, “Safe and Sound”. My goodness, this song is beautiful. Emotional, haunting, and memorable. I wonder in which scene will the producers choose to play it, because I can think of a few that would work – there’s one that I would name but I don’t want to spoil it for anyone who hasn’t read the book. Let’s just say I can feel the tears coming on just by thinking of it. Either way, it was a great idea to release this song ahead of the movie to increase anticipation for the film and to show the range of Swift’s voice.

Well, that was fun. Thoughts on any of the above-mentioned songs or Taylor Swift in general? I hope everyone is having a happy Sunday!

7 Comments

Filed under Pop

7 responses to “Time to Laud Taylor Swift (thoughts on “Enchanted”, “Mean”, and “Safe and Sound”)

  1. Happy Sunday to you too:) I love Taylor Swift, her lyrics are awesome and I always ask myself after hearing a song of hers, “How does she come up with this stuff?” and I suppose she gets them from her personal experiences and many of her songs have a message behind the words.
    As for LMFAO I don’t think they’re all of that and that might be due to me not liking any of their ‘music’.

    Catchy songs, beautiful voice and meaning, that what I like about her and also the fact that she seems to be one of the most stable young celebrity out there today, don’t you think? I don’t know her personally but I would say she’s responsible and kind and I think she’s a good role model as compared to Miley Cyrus(meh). She dresses appropriately (from all of what I’ve seen) and I haven’t yet heard of any inappropriate behaviour on her behalf.
    I have a feeling that when I get older and sit and I listen to her songs once more that I’ll get those nostalgic feelings of my younger days, Taylor’s voice is the kind I suspect that could do that.
    I was not aware of Safe and Sound until now. Thomas, I cried, I still am. Her voice … it has this ability to invoke these emotions … as for the scene in <The Hunger Games, I’m not too sure but I will say it’s the perfect song for the movie.

    “Without music, life would be a mistake.”
    ― Friedrich Nietzsche, Twilight of the Idols

    “One good thing about music, when it hits you, you feel no pain.”
    ― Bob Marley

    • I wrote a three/four paragraph analyzation of this commercial for my Advanced Composition class. I am not obsessed…

      Hmmm, not obsessed, eh? Ya don’t say 😀

      • Yes, Safe and Sound is a fantastic song for the movie. I also agree about Taylor Swift’s public image, it hasn’t been tarnished by any scandal yet, so, I hope she keeps it up. Thanks for reading and commenting as always and for sharing the quotes! I’m not that obsessed, as opposed to one of my friends who practically breathes Taylor Swift… (just kidding, she’s not that bad either).

  2. Cara

    I hadn’t heard about the single before! So thanks for the link to that. I think the song goes great with the book, and I absolutely LOVE the band (The Civil Wars) Taylor Swift does the song with, so win win:D Makes me that much more excited about the movie.
    I’m not a hater or exactly lover of Taylor Swift but I do admire how she has stuck to her guns (so to speak), and not followed the mainstream way of dealing with fame. I know people ridicule her for it, but I say more power to her! And when a song of hers comes on I bop my head along. It will be interesting to see how people will react to this song, hopefully as positive as we have:D

    Oh yeah LMFAO, I’m tired of them. I’m not going to say their songs aren’t catchy like “The Party Rock Anthem” song, but I’m not a fan of any other of their songs:/

    • Exactly, let’s hope that the song may have convinced some people to check out the Hunger Games who were fans of Taylor Swift but not of the book… yet. Also, agreed about LMFAO. Thanks for dropping by!

  3. I’ve heard about the LMFAO video…dont plan on watching it though 😀
    you do have a point, pop music videos have become abit more…perverted

    • They have, haven’t they? I’m glad I’m not the only one who thinks so. And I approve of your decision not to watch the LMFAO video… you won’t regret it.

Leave a Reply

