Persuasion by Jane Austen

Cover via Goodreads.

Rating: 4/5 stars.

Am I the only one who squeals while reading Jane Austen?

No, seriously. I read Frederick Wentworth’s letter to Anne while sitting in my dad’s car, waiting for him outside of Walmart – which may have been one of the most unromantic places to experience that emotion of pure warmth and joy when romance is written oh so right.

Now, the only other Austen novel I’ve read at this point is Pride and Prejudice, and though I felt that Elizabeth Bennet and Mr. Darcy’s love was expressed quite outwardly, the passion between Anne Elliot and Captain Wentworth – while probably equal to that of Elizabeth and Mr. Darcy – was more reserved. This could be attributed certain aspects of the plot, as for the majority of the book Anne and Wentworth are performing a socially awkward “do you still love me or not?” dance, but I did not feel any sense of immanency or immediate conflict throughout the story.

Persuasion is scintillating in a subtle way. There were two conversations that caught my attention the most. One involved the merits of poetry in that time period, and the other had to do with whether men or women love the longest. Austen’s sophisticated, yet not overwhelmingly salient commentary concerning marriage, social spheres, class distinctions, and persuasion was well-written and deep.

My rating for this book may be a bit unfair because of the time it took me to get through it (one day short of a month!) but that’s okay, because I plan to go back to this book. Either in college or during my free time when I’m older, we’ll see. I think I’ll take a break from Austen for now, but I am still looking forward to reading another one of her amazingly romantic and richly-layered works.

2 Comments

Filed under 4 stars, Book Reviews, Books

2 responses to “Persuasion by Jane Austen

  1. I really like Persuasion because it shows the growth of Austen as a writer from writing something as lively as Pride and Prejudice to something as sedated and more subtle like Persuasion. It really hearkens me back to Mansfield Park, the other Austen novel I really enjoyed.

    Michelle

    • Yes, it is really refined and subtle compared to her vivacious novel Pride and Prejudice. Mansfield Park is on my to-read list, I am quite looking forward to getting to it… thanks for stopping by Michelle!

Leave a Reply

