Lone Wolf by Jodi Picoult

Cover via Goodreads.

Rating: 4/5 stars.

Luke Warren finds it easier to live with wolves than with his own human family. His son, Edward, has resided in Thailand for the past five years after having a fight with his father, and his wife, Georgie, has divorced him. Now he only resides with his seventeen-year-old daughter, Cara. But after a devastating car accident leaves Luke comatose and Cara injured, Edward is forced to come back to the states and choose with Cara whether or not his father should be taken off life support. Edward and Cara’s conflicting attitudes toward their father makes the decision difficult, and the things that they will do to get what they want could tear their family apart forever.

Staying true to her style, Picoult creates another well-written novel centered around a controversial issue that involves a tension-filled court case. I had never put much thought into life support and vegetative states before reading this book – at least not as much as I do other issues – but Picoult does a good job balancing the medical jargon with simpler terms that the average reader will understand. Her trademark skill of showing multiple sides and incorporating plenty of pathos shines in Lone Wolf once again, and I could not put this book down by the midway point.

However, this book was not as fantastic as some of her others. I did not connect to the characters as much as I wanted to, though I did care for them at a surface level. Similarly I was not enamored with the wolves, but I enjoyed how she interconnected their side of the story to that of the main characters. I caught a few minor errors – for example, on one page she writes that a character is crying for the first time in a long time, but on the page before that the character had just cried.

Though not her best book, Lone Wolf will immerse readers and most likely please fans of Picoult’s other works, as well as those interested in wolves. Recommended.

9 Comments

Filed under 4 stars, Book Reviews, Books

9 responses to “Lone Wolf by Jodi Picoult

  1. After I read “my sisters keeper”, I was sure I’m gonna love everything Picoult writes. But her other books were between fine and horrible. I enjoyed the “10th circle” but all the rest was plain bad. It sounds like you really liked the book, so I might pick it up the next time I’m in the library, but I doubt I’ll really enjoy it.

    • Aw, I’m sorry your experience with reading Picoult’s novels has not been as bright as mine. I think you should go into this one with an open mind and if still isn’t to your liking after the first hundred pages or so, you could perhaps seek something else to read. You never know, you could end up loving it! (:

  2. Fredrikke

    Thanks for a great review! I’m going to the library in some days to get the book or another she has written. Which novel do you think is her best?

  3. I find Jodi Picoult to be very hit and miss. I loved Handle With Care like you, but wasn’t so keen on The Pact, I though it started off great but just trailed off by the end. However I keep buying her books because I love the moral dilemma’s in them and the issues she tackles, even if her stories aren’t always riveting. Currently on my tbr pile I’ve got House Rules, Second Glance and Harvesting the Heart. Have you read any of those? πŸ™‚

    • You’re not the only one who feels that way about Jodi Picoult’s books – I perfectly understand your motivation to buy her books based on the controversial issues she writes about. I really liked House Rules, liked Second Glance, and have not read Harvesting the Heart – please tell me what you think of it after you read it!

Leave a Reply

