Fight Club by Chuck Palahniuk

Fight Club by Chuck Palahniuk

Rating: 2/5 stars.

“You are not a beautiful or unique snowflake. You are the same decaying organic matter as everyone else, and we are all part of the same compost pile.”

Well, that’s depressing.

I actually thought that while reading most of the novel. Either something along the lines of “well, that’s depressing” or “oh my gosh, so much violence.” There is definitely a reason the book is titled Fight Club.

And the book should be depressing, as it deals with heavy and unpleasant topics such as excessive materialism, lack of individualism, and deindividuation. But despite the lack-of-father angst and all of the other problems and questions presented in the book, there were no answers or anything that made me hopeful for humankind. I know the purpose of reading novels is not to have all of our conflicts neatly resolved, yet, I feel like Flight Club threw out a lot of depressing and disturbing things for no real reason or purpose. If the book was not written in such a sophisticated style and if it had not incorporated many interesting ideas, I may have assumed that the author was attempting to garner readership through nihilistic shock value.

The characters did not capture me either. The narrator and Marla were flat and at times maudlin, whereas Tyler, while more rounded, still did not leave a serious impression on me. The characters did a good job of conveying the themes and morals of the book, but did not stand out on their own and did not make me empathize with them individually.

While the two-star rating seems low, I know for a fact that Fight Club has myriad fans – I heard that the movie was wonderful, so perhaps I’ll check that out, if I can withstand the violence. Recommended to those who can stomach some minor gore and are intrigued by books that detail the downfall of the modern man.

2 Comments

Filed under 2 stars, Book Reviews, Books

2 responses to “Fight Club by Chuck Palahniuk

  1. Definitely watch the movie, I thought it was fantastic! It sounds quite similar to the book, although I think you may find it slightly more tolerable because it won’t get into your psyche as much. 🙂

    By the way nice use of the word deindividuation, I can see the psych revision is paying off 😉

    • I will when I have time! I’ve even heard from some that the movie is better than the book, so it seems worthy.

      Yep, thanks! Psychology is such a great subject. (:

Leave a Reply

