Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins

Cover via Goodreads.

Rating: 4.5/5 stars.

I liked this book better than Anna and The French Kiss.

There, I said it.

Maybe it’s because of the story’s setting. While Anna had her amorous affair in plush Paris, Lola’s took place in the cool and stylish city of San Francisco. Her story – the story of an up-and-coming fashion designer and her feelings for the boy next door – took center stage to the setting. With Anna, I think Perkins dedicated more time to perking up her surroundings.

It could definitely be because of the character development. Lola had loads of internal conflict and conquest, though I wish her career as a designer had been further elaborated upon. I preferred Cricket to Etienne (I know, shocker) not only because of his tight pants, but because of his awkward kindness and effusive energy. Perkins earned points for including an Asian best friend, and I even liked Calliope and Norah. Oh, and Nathan and Andy. Let me devote a paragraph to Nathan and Andy.

You see, Lola’s parents are two gay men. I applaud Perkins for this, because not many authors have the initiative or the incentive to include gay parents in their books. What’s even better is that Perkins doesn’t make it a huge deal – Lola never says, oh, I have gay parents, let me randomly discuss equality and Christianity and Prop 8! Rather, Perkins subtly and indirectly characterizes Nathan and Andy to show that they really are just like any other pair of loving parents. So, kudos to Stephanie Perkins.

Overall, Lola and the Boy Next Door possesses plenty of delicious drama and clashing character motivations. Not every book has to have profound meaning – Lola’s story will make you grin and swoon and just feel good about life. I highly recommend it.

7 Comments

Filed under 4.5 stars, Book Reviews, Books

7 responses to “Lola and the Boy Next Door by Stephanie Perkins

  1. I read Anna and the French Kiss and i think I gave it a 4 I can’t remember why but I’ll just say because I was younger and stupider at that time), it was okay but I thought Etienne was a jerk. But their story took place in Paris and not London as you’ve written.
    I’ve heard of Lola and I mentally shelved it as a maybe-read but I just might try it soon. I didn’t know her parents were gay, makes it more interesting.

    • Ha ha I gave Anna a 4 too, I know a lot of people (well, on GR) who are not that young or stupid at all and loved the book, so don’t feel bad! I remember thinking Etienne was alright but not as attractive as others presumed – I do remember his confidence and his swag, which were major parts of his characterization.

      I suggest you give this one a try if you’re looking for a light, fun read. Her parents being gay isn’t a huge aspect of the story but it is a minor plus.

      Thank you for reading and commenting!

  2. chaiichi05

    Thick book. I’m still on chapter four haha! My goal is to finish the book. seems a nice one đŸ˜€

  3. nuelene

    OMG. I definitely should read this one. Anna and the French Kiss is one my favorite books. Can’t get over Etienne and his accent. But if you say you prefer this book’s leading man, I should believe you. After all, I love spoilers. =)

    • Yes, do read it! The books are pretty different in terms of characterization and setting even though they’re written by the same author. I hope you enjoy Cricket and the book as much as I did!

Leave a Reply

