Don’t Let Me Go by J.H. Trumble

Cover via Goodreads.

Rating: 3/5 stars.

I really wanted to love this book. I moved heaven and earth to find it. Well, not really – I searched all of my local libraries, and the nearby bookstores. I couldn’t buy it on Amazon in case my mom got to it before I did. I resorted to ordering it through Barnes & Noble, and I’m still not sure why Don’t Let Me Go was so difficult to obtain.

It’s like gay chick-lit, but better. The story revolves around Nate Schaper, a high school senior who has already found his soul mate. Nate and Adam are inseparable, bonded by true love that has survived huge amounts of homophobia – even a heinous hate crime. But when Adam graduates and gets an acting job in New York, their relationship is put to the ultimate test.

There should me more books like Don’t Let Me Go. I loved how J.H. Trumble addressed homosexuality and how tough it can be to be gay in high school. She took a sensitive and honest approach to coming out, cycles of abuse, and gay/straight friendships. Her care for the characters appeared prominently on every page.

Before I get into why I didn’t love the book, I want to make it clear that I have every intention of reading Trumble’s next novel. Her writing is raw and sincere, and her utilization of flashbacks uniquely fleshed out the characters. I only wish she had showed some of the scenes instead of telling them. However, the romance in the novel was real and intense and made me wish that I had a boyfriend. Perhaps that’s how girls feel when they read books like Anna and the French Kiss.

Now, the only reason I’m giving this book three stars instead of five is Nate. Nate. Schaper. It’s taking every ounce of my self-control not to just rant about him. As the protagonist of the book and the narrator, I did empathize with him. I understood how hurt and vulnerable he was. But there comes a time when characters cross the line from emotionally distraught and damaged to acting like an insensitive, immature idiot. Almost every single plot problem arose from his insecurity or his inability to communicate like a mature human being. The pain I felt for Adam cut way deeper than the pain I felt for Nate. He deserved a sharp slap across the face, or something that would wake him from his slumber of stupidity.

Don’t get me wrong, I still recommend this book, especially to those searching for a great story centered on a gay relationship. Just get ready to put up with a protagonist who is not exactly likeable.

4 Comments

Filed under 3 stars, Book Reviews, Books

4 responses to “Don’t Let Me Go by J.H. Trumble

  1. Oh my gosh….this book sounds EXACTLY like the overall plot line of an old gay show called Queer As Folk. Not accusing the author of anything, but dang…the similarities are numerous. Gay businessman (with a tough, hard exterior who constantly pushes people away and does stupid things to protect his heart because of how he’d been hurt previously in life) falls in love with a gay high school student who comes out during school and as a result, is the victim of a horrible hate crime…at the end of the series the student (now graduated from college) leaves for New York to attempt to become a successful artist…
    but I haven’t read the book, so who knows if they’re actually all that similar

    • Have you actually watched Queer as Folk? I’ve heard of the show and even planned to watch it, but I have no time for TV… and though the plots have some similar characteristics, I think overall they are not alike. You should read Don’t Let Me Go if you’re interested, I have a copy! (:

Leave a Reply

