Taylor Swift “I Knew You Were Trouble” Live at the AMAs – Fanboy Squeal!

Taylor Swift getting down on the cold hard ground. Sick!

Today begins my Thanksgiving break from school, which means more time for blogging! I’ll start off with this fanboy post about Taylor Swift’s live performance of “I Knew You Were Trouble” at the American Music Awards. If you haven’t seen it yet, you need to check it out here and have your mind blown.

There are several things that could have gone wrong with this performance. “I Knew You Were Trouble” is not an easy song to perform live – unlike most of her other songs, Swift can’t simply sit on a stool and strum a guitar while looking pretty. It’s more dynamic, and features dub step. As most of her fans know, it’s new territory for her.

However, she made it work wonderfully. She appeared gorgeous as always, and although I can’t really call her sexy, I’m sure many straight males or homosexual females found her appealing. I felt like Swift showed herself in a way that screamed “hey, I know I’m doing something different, but if you don’t like it, too bad.” She got into character splendidly and exuded charisma.

Powerful, pretty, and pure at the same time!

I also loved the Phantom of the Opera/Romeo and Juliet theme – the costumes and the choreography enhanced the performance and took it in a direction I was not expecting. I wish they would release a version of the song with the back track, because the clapping and the additional layering of sounds in general created a magical feel.

Although I don’t love Swift’s newest album, I loved this performance of one of my favorite songs from the album. It’s not the best thing I’ve ever listened to, but exemplifies her growth as an artist and her ability to branch out into different genres. I will go more in-depth when the music video for the song is released!

Look at her radiant smile! I’m glad she appeared to have fun.

What did you think of this performance, or of any of the other performances at the American Music Awards? Just in case I don’t get to post once more before tomorrow, have a tantalizingly delicious Thanksgiving!

7 Comments

Filed under Pop

7 responses to “Taylor Swift “I Knew You Were Trouble” Live at the AMAs – Fanboy Squeal!

  1. I totally agree with everything in the blog, hot & amazing performance. I would also love to have an official itunes or amazon version of the performance. You described that version as being “magical” with the other background sounds & that’s dead on (I’d also add “mysterious” to the description). I definitely like her even more after that performance.

    🙂

    • Yes, “mysterious” is another word that accurately describes this performance. She took the song and her performance in a different direction than just a bland pop rendition, so I can see why you like her even more now! She definitely deserves all of the awards she’s won. (:

  2. That’s so cool!! She kicks butt, even though I prefer her country lol. Thanks for posting. 🙂

    • Yes she does! I know a bunch of people prefer her country songs, but I think it’s great she’s trying something new. Thank you for reading and commenting!

  3. Aashwini

    I just love Taylor Swift and I am big fan of her
    I wonder how one can be so talented and b’ful at the same time

Leave a Reply

