Review: SNSD “Dancing Queen” and “I Got A Boy” Music Videos

So I was looking through my blog search terms and saw this:

snsd i got a boy search term

Which made me realize that 1) People still find my blog through searching for SNSD related stuff and 2) SNSD had a new song out and I had no idea. Probably what I deserve for unfollowing allkpop on Twitter. Anyway, I went on Youtube, searched for “I Got A Boy”, watched the video, then noticed “Dancing Queen” on the sidebar. Both surprised me but in different ways.

SNSD in white tees and blue jeans! Oh, the good old days...

SNSD in white tees and blue jeans! Oh, the good old days…

When I first clicked on “Dancing Queen” I assumed that the song may have been inspired by the song “Dancing Queen” by Abba. Turns out that SNSD’s song is actually a remake of Buffy’s 2008 hit “Mercy”, one of my favorite songs of all time. Apparently SM planned to release “Dancing Queen” back in 2008 but had to replace it with “Gee” due to copyright issues – they even filmed the video and mastered the choreography, which luckily they were able to use four years later.

I noticed in the comments section of Duffy’s music video that SNSD fans had started some sort of uproar/war/apology fight. I honestly think that this remake is just a cute, catchy version quite similar to its original; it’s not anything to go crazy over, even though it’s a great song on its own. The melody is the same and the lyrics, while completely changed, can be sung on the same rhythm as Duffy’s. The bass line isn’t as smoky or jazzy but more cutesy and true to SNSD’s style (only in a blog post about SNSD would I purposefully use the word “cute” twice in the same paragraph.) The video’s time travel concept worked wonderfully as it did feel like going back in the past, utilizing film from four years ago and showing SNSD when they were starting out.

They incorporated a cute little kitten motif in the music video as well. I should stop using the word "cute" soon...

They incorporated a cute little kitten motif in the music video as well. I should stop using the word “cute” soon…

My only real critique of their “Dancing Queen” music video is that I expected a bit more from the dancing itself. Sure, they pulled out their hip movements, kitten poses, and hands-running-down-their-legs moves, but I wanted something bigger and better. The song is titled “Dancing Queen” after all. Though their dancing and outlandish outfits in “I Got A Boy” somewhat makes up for it…

The first time I watched the video I was so taken aback by the seemingly random dance break down. Oh, SNSD and SM, how you still surprise me, I don't know.

The first time I watched the video I was so taken aback by the seemingly random dance break down. Oh, SNSD and SM, how you still surprise me, I don’t know.

I highly recommend listening to the audio of “I Got A Boy” before watching the music video. The unusually unusual outfits, the crazy amount of colors, and the fact that song almost completely changes after the first two minutes may be too much to handle at once. For the costuming and environment of the video, I feel like they took what usually belongs to f(x) in making the girls look stylishly strange. While some fans may quickly say “no, the girls would never copy another artist!” this isn’t a bad thing — lately the girls have been trapped in random snow-enclosed rooms or stuck making spider shapes with their hands in futuristic dungeons. Getting the girls out of the underground and finally giving them a music video with some form a plot is a huge plus.

The plot also explains the weird transitioning in the song. It starts out with a slow, girl-power focused, rap anthem vibe, then changes to a funky techno beat, then for the rest of the song flutters back and forth between fast-paced talk-sing pop and hard-hitting vocals. At first I was surprised, but after executing some research – aka, reading through a few Youtube comments – I realized that the song more or less is about a girl’s mindset changing. At first she’s all anti-boy and unbelieving and feminist, but then transforms into a lovestruck girl who’s crazy about some guy. That’s the rough meaning, and while not 100% accurate, explains why the song shifts from one sound to another.

While I do like “Dancing Queen” I’m not a huge fan of “I Got A Boy.” I’m glad that SNSD finally got a music video that’s more high-maintenance but I’m still not sold on the song. It sounds too much like two songs within one and I can’t really connect to it – maybe after a few more listens it’ll get stuck. Hopefully fans will react positively to SNSD’s long-awaited and rather unique comeback.

You can't deny that these clothing choices are peculiar. Maybe this means f(x) will get to wear normal clothing!

You can’t deny that these clothing choices are peculiar. Maybe this means f(x) will get to wear normal clothing!

What do you guys think of the songs or the music videos? I haven’t posted about K-Pop in such a long time – one of my friends reminded me of that period when I was in love with Key today and I couldn’t help but laugh at the memory. Maybe a SHINee review is next?

9 Comments

Filed under K-Pop, Pop

9 responses to “Review: SNSD “Dancing Queen” and “I Got A Boy” Music Videos

  1. I can tolerate Dancing Queen a little more than I can I Got A Boy. I liked Mercy so that’s probably why I like Dancing Queen but I Got A Boy is just a mess to my ears.

  2. Cathal

    I Got A Boy is a schizophrenic mess. But I kind of like it…

    AYO GG!- Sooyoung being lame

    • Cathal, I forgot that you’re a K-Pop fan! For some reason I find your comment funny – liking a schizophrenic mess, who would have known? And yeah I know, I perhaps those native to Korea would find Sooyoung’s battle cry “cool”, or at least more effective than those of us who know English fluently.

  3. I like ‘I Got A Boy’ even though it’s all over the place. My feelings are going from one place to another during the song. I loved their outfits and makeup, as usual.
    Speaking of Key, I haven’t seen your post on Key! Key baby needs more love!

    x
    Rosie

    • It is a frenetic mess, though I suppose it has its likable qualities. Oh, Key, I’m not so sure what happened to him after Sherlock… once he changed his hair, just… ugh. We’ll see. Thanks for reading and commenting!

  4. Sandra

    When i first listen to ‘i got a boy’, i even thought that snsd is not gonna do well this round. But then, i kinda addicted to the beat n harmony of d song, though, d music video is quite messy. For dancing queen, i knew that the melody is quite familiar to me. Now i found out the exact original song. Anyway, i still like GG. Peace out!

    • Yeah, like with a lot of SNSD songs (or pop songs in general) once you listen to them a few times they become addicting. I agree that the “Dancing Queen” was easy to listen to due to its familiarity. Thanks for dropping by!

  5. snsd dancing queen…. now the we queen ware dancing.yeah…thanks…. fighting taeyeon and snsd…

Leave a Reply

