Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

Cover via Goodreads.

Cover via Goodreads.

Rating: 4/5 stars.

Things I need to find out about my future partner before I marry him: 1) If he can get rid of bugs for me, 2) If he’s a super crazy psychopath who will kill me in my sleep.

Gone Girl starts out as a simple story about Nick and Amy Dunne, the average married couple gearing up for their fifth anniversary. Conflict arises when Amy goes missing and the media accuses Nick of kidnapping and murdering her. The investigation takes a turn for the worse when clues are found that implicate certain individuals and reveal ugly truths about others. As the story progresses it turns out that our average husband and wife may be more twisted than we imagined…

Crazy. Psychotic. Thriller. From the first part of the book Gone Girl doesn’t seem like a suspense story, but as the action builds and the characters develop, twists and turns show themselves until your mind explodes from the pressure. Flynn alternates her narration back and forth between Nick and Amy, allowing us to experience both of their deliciously psychopathic perspectives. The incorporation of the media, the intricacies of Nick and Amy’s relationship, and the never-ending genius of Flynn’s plot won me over.

My favorite aspect of Gone Girl was its voice. Nick and Amy might have similar traits but their voices are remarkably distinct. Their internal and external dialogue remains consistent and tricky; some of their statements are unreliable, but Flynn ties up all of the loose ends by the book’s closing.

Overall, I would recommend Gone Girl to anyone searching for a solid mystery/suspense novel. The crafty and convoluted voices of Flynn’s protagonists will please even those who aren’t accustomed to the genre, as it did for me. Most importantly it will teach you to be careful about who you marry – he or she may be the death of you.

4 Comments

Filed under 4 stars, Book Reviews, Books

4 responses to “Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

  1. I’m so glad you enjoyed this one, Thomas! I’ve been meaning to read it for awhile, but a lot of reviews have mentioned how slow the beginning is and that’s put me off. Needless to say, I’m relieved to hear that this is such a thought-provoking novel and that everything pays off in the end. I’m going to have to give this a try soon. Great review! 🙂

    • Like many novels it starts off slow but builds up and like you said, pays off. Everything in the beginning has a purpose in developing the characters or setting up suspense for plot twists later in the story. Thank you, Keertana!

  2. ” Crazy. Psychotic. Thriller.”<—- Now I have to read this! Amazing review! I think I should also make sure to find out if my future husband is a #2.

Leave a Reply

