Proxy by Alex London

Cover via Goodreads.

Cover via Goodreads.

Rating: 4.5/5 stars.

Going along with my idea of book reproduction in my review of Speechless, Proxy would be the child of Uglies by Scott Westerfeld and Legend by Marie Lu. It blends fast-paced action with a well-fleshed futuristic world, complete with characters that are rife with wit and passion.

Knox has never felt consequences before. A Patron born into one of the City’s richest families, he has access to the best technology, clothing, and parties. Every time he makes a mistake, his Proxy – Syd, a hard-worker living in the rough equivalent of a slum – gets beaten up or electrocuted. But when Knox takes a joy ride too far and kills someone, Syd is sentenced to death. The two unlikely companions join forces to fight the system that has trapped them for all of their lives.

Proxy has a plot you have to experience for yourself. The premise of an affluent city in which the poor and rich despise one another isn’t striking on its own, but when blended with Alex London’s extra layers – like how those who are rich find anything natural/organic disgusting – the entire book comes to life. London paces his story in a way that lets his world-building sink in while maintaining the book’s overall thrilling nature.

The conflict and tension between the main characters kept me on my toes. Analyzing and eventually coming to understand Syd’s tough life and his desire for freedom, as well as Knox’s pampered upbringing and the unhealthy relationship with his father, was an all-consuming and all-too-enjoyable process. While the characters may have come off as cutout stereotypes at first their interactions with one another elevated them to a higher level.

I would recommend this one to any searching for a thrilling story with a fascinating setting and believable characters. It has so much potential for a sequel, especially because of how its themes encompass the idea of debt, death, honor, and hatred. I finished it in a day, and I do not doubt that many others will too.

11 Comments

Filed under 4.5 stars, Book Reviews, Books

11 responses to “Proxy by Alex London

  1. I’m glad you enjoyed this, Thomas! I think the push and pull between Knox and Syd is so compelling, too, and the action was pretty fun. I’m very curious about what will happen in this sequel–I was a little surprised to hear there was one, but as you said, there’s room to explore this story further, too.

    Wendy @ The Midnight Garden

    • Oh yes, the interaction between Knox and Syd was so well-done and amusing at times – I felt like it could have gone both ways with this book. It doesn’t really need a sequel but I don’t mind one either because of its potential. Thanks for reading and reviewing Wendy!

  2. This is a fun novel, that I have to agree with you. Although I didn’t like Knox for most of the novel, I did like the relationship between him and Syd and the ending. I can’t wait for the sequel. Awesome review!

  3. This one sounds interesting, kind of like a bit of a Whipping Boy feel to it perhaps.

  4. Ooh, this looks cool! The concept of a Proxy is neat, if rather chilling.

  5. Sydney

    I’m taking AP Lang this year, since you’re such a great writer do you have any tips?

    • That’s a pretty broad question, and if you want to respond to this comment or message me via my contact info about more specific concerns, don’t be afraid to do so. In general terms I would recommend reading everything assigned (not solely using online resources, rather, sometimes utilizing them as supplements), reviewing every essay you write and thinking about how you could improve it (even if you got an A), and learning how to write in a persuasive way. Though your teacher will hopefully help you out on that last one, keep in mind that you’re trying to prove/substantiate your argument as much as you can, so a strong thesis statement supported by evidence/commentary will take you far. Hope this helps and once again please do not hesitate to message me!

  6. Pingback: Confession: I’m a fanatical fan of authors part 2 | Jen's Pen Den

Leave a Reply

