I Just Turned Four

I lied. I turned 19 in May. But yesterday marked this blog’s four year anniversary, so say hallelujah for four years of Thomas’s thoughts, tangents, and tantalizing posts!

Obligatory anniversary post selfie! I look so old. Weathered. Changed.

Obligatory anniversary selfie! I look so old. Almost like an adult or something.

As I always say, thank you to all of my readers, commenters, followers, and lurkers for your continued support. Even though college has taken its toll on my posting rate, this blog has now exceeded 630,000 views, 5,000 comments, and 460 posts. But as I have learned time and time again, the numbers do not do justice to the people I have encountered through this blog: despite my more periodical posting, I have still received so many kind comments and messages that make my day even if I do not respond to them right away.

I have listened to a lot of Ariana Grande as of late, and one theme of this post centers on her lyric “stronger than I’ve been before.” Since my last blogiversary, I learned how to drive, gained a couple of leadership positions in my extra-curricular activities, started my own Psychology research study, and witnessed the passing of my grandfather. It feels so strange knowing that four years ago, I sat in my house and started this blog as a sophomore in high school – a period marked by family drama, tumultuous adolescence, and the birth of my voice. Now, while I still face some struggles, I have grown: I work multiple jobs, I study and play even harder, and I have focused my purpose to helping people through Psychology, research, and therapy.

We will see where I take this blog. Though I know I do not post as often as I used to, I wish to move away from feeling guilty about numbers; I want each of my posts to reflect my passion or my voice, or even just a piece of my personality. I have a couple of topics lined up – Ariana Grande, mental health – but I would love to hear what you guys want to hear from me, either about college, my sexuality, books, or more.

I have also frequented Barnes and Noble quite a lot this semester. And I have bought their food. Hm.

I have also frequented Barnes and Noble quite a lot this semester. And I have bought their food. Hm.

What thoughts do you guys have? Any advice you would pose for improving this blog? What can I do better? Any other things you would like to share? Wherever you find yourself or whatever you write or do not write, I hope this week has proven fulfilling for you, and I look forward to writing my next post.

29 Comments

Filed under Personal

29 responses to “I Just Turned Four

  1. aguywithoutboxers

    Congratulations and best wishes on your accomplishment! πŸ™‚

  2. Every time I read something of yours – whether a blog post or a tweet – I think to myself, “I wish I knew Thomas in person!” Thank you for enriching me with your words. Getting to know you through your passions, voice, and the tidbits of your personality that you drop throughout your posts (your tags are amazing – meow) make blogging all the more worth it. I also love when you mention that the beginning of this blog marked the birth of your voice. I feel the exact same way with my blog. Find rest this break and look forward to reading more of your tantalizing thoughts.

    • Glad someone reads the tags! Meow. But, in all seriousness, thank you for continuing to read my posts and for discovering your voice as I discover mine. Blogging buddies for the win.

  3. Just keep doing what you do. Your writing is the magical Avalon rising from the mists of the internet, and it’s always an inspiration. Congratulations!

    • “… the magical Avalon rising from the mists of the internet.” Best description of this week, this month, maybe this year (2014 included). Thank you so much!

  4. I like your blog just the way it is. πŸ™‚

  5. Congrats Thomas what an awesome milestone! I always enjoying popping over to your blog for thoughtful/insightful posts and bookish fun as well. It is strange when you think back to the place you were in when you started your blog and the place you are in now. So much changes, but it’s cool to have so much to look back on! I’m glad it’s not just me that struggles to keep my blog going during term time either. πŸ˜‰

    Congrats again and have a good Christmas. πŸ™‚

    • Becky, your commitment to reading and to blogging about books always inspires me. Also, hearing from you always makes me happy because we have Psych major solidarity! I wish you a great 2015 and that we both maintain our blogs to some extent.

  6. Congrats! Here’s to more posts, comments and future readers.

  7. Wowwww four years. I’m coming up on my one-year anniversary which is exciting but there’s not a single thing that I started in high school that I’m still doing today.

    • One year = still super impressive! And I feel like college acts as a time to discover new interests and to grow away from things we once did just for the sake of putting them on a college application. Perhaps diversifying your activities has been a step in the right direction.

      Thank you for your comment and for your support!

  8. 4 years – wow! Huge congrats, Thomas!! Aaand, to answer your questions, I love your blog just the way it is. I don’t always have the time to comment, but I read (and <3) everything you write.

    And since I don't know when I can stop by again, Merry Christmas and Happy New Year. Enjoy the holidays~

    • Thank you for your comment and support, Cayce! I fell in love with your blog ever since I saw that LGBTQ+ book quilt you made, such a stellar combination of aesthetic and quality content. Happy 2015 to you. (:

  9. Congratuations! I’d say keep on keeping on – it’s such an interesting period in your life and I’m looking forward to watching how things continue to grow. I love that you engage with your readers and commenters – I have stopped following quite a few blogs where the writer never responds to commenters: we can’t all do it right away but I really appreciate responses to my responses and I know other people do. Keep up the good work, keep growing and learning and reaching out!

    • I agree that engaging readers and commenters matters, even if it takes awhile to happen. Thank you for always showing support for my writing even when times have been rough, ad I look forward to reading your thoughts on various books in the New Year.

  10. You’re a wonderful writer, and I think that four years with the same blog is commendable. You’ll definitely post interesting things. Personally, I enjoy your reflections as they apply to your thinking today. Keep up some memoir style writing, because it is wonderful.

    • Aw, thank you so much for your kind comment and your continued support! I will keep posting memoir style writing, and your comment has made me think about a possible topic for one of my upcoming posts; I appreciate the inspiration a lot.

  11. Congratulations! I only found this blog in August but it’s great and I am happy for your milestone posts. No heels this time? 😦 they look better on you than they do on me, much as it pains me to say it. πŸ™‚

    • Aw, Lia, thank you for your compliment and for your comment. Maybe the heels will make a comeback next December. (: Anyway, I appreciate so much your comments and your thoughts, as it always makes me feel glad knowing that people still stumble upon this blog, even if I do not post as much as I used to.

  12. Shany

    Hey Thomas,
    I came across your blog like many through Goodreads. Its “a breath of fresh air” to read your posts – you really come off as though talking to a friend. Like you, I’ve started a psychology course (although just at high school level). Congratulations on four years of blogging, good luck, and keep at it if it does you good! πŸ™‚

    • Hi Shany, thank you so much for your kind comment and for dropping by this post. I feel glad knowing that my writing maintains a relatable quality even as I age. May I ask you what Psychology course you’re taking? AP Psych or another one? I hope you have a great first day of 2015.

  13. Happy fourth! I’ve seen a good many blogs die in the past few years but I am really heartened to see that you’re stronger than ever.. it gives me more inspiration to post more on ilam, LOL.

    Michelle

  14. Ah, another year of Thomas Le! I’m looking forward to delving into your mind (well, you know what I mean). I suppose to say you have no need to improve in the blog is a good thing for me to confirm, and I do so believe that today, but I’m sure there’s almost always more angles to get better from, however, I don’t know any as yet but I’ll get back to you when I do.
    I can relate, you blog is like a marker, you know how far you’ve come and it pushes you to keep moving. I’m in a bad way right now, have been on and off over the past years, and I want you to know that ‘the quiet voice’ been a beacon for me, and I’m sure many of us here will agree. Thank you for being you.

  15. xxtokyoxx

    Wow that’s so awesome. Congrats. And you know what just do whatever the hell you feel like doing. It’s your blog, do as you please πŸ™‚ I just came across your blog and think it’s quite wonderful.

Leave a Reply

