Of Sexuality and Boy Scouts

Sometimes, stress is not the result of roaring crises and large catastrophes, but an accumulation of stinging, pinpoint-like problems. Basically, I’ve had a bad week, filled with unrelenting homework assignments and college apps and family drama – but none of it is worth complaining about, so instead, I will sublimate my emotions by writing a rant-like blog post!

I understand that the Boy Scouts of America have won, in court, the right to exclude openly homosexual individuals from their ranks. Supposedly this is because it is a private organization. This post isn’t a persuasive piece on why what the BSA is doing is illegal; rather, it is a rant an attempt to prove why it should be.

I’m more fearful of bugs than of gay boy scouts. These are the weapons I wield against them. The bugs, not the boy scouts.

At the summer program I attended in July, we had a brief discussion centered on this topic in my Forensic Victimology class. One girl raised her hand and stated something along the lines of how other boys or men would be uncomfortable with a gay person in their presence. Yes, you read that correctly. Uncomfortable. Due to the reasons I presented in this post, she was quickly shot down (in a polite, respectful way) and the class agreed that the BSA’s prejudice was only permissible because of the current law.

But what I find baffling is how the organization could exclude any member at all based on their sexuality. Clearly the only real reason they have for this is that they claim to abide by Christianity, which I guess they think is against homosexuality, though I know a bunch of Christians who are just fine with gays. And from sifting through their website, it seems like a lot of boy scouts are around the age of 10 or 11, and continue until they are 18. Why would a 10 or 11-year-old be thinking about sex or romance? It’s not some gay counselor is going to go “Okay kids, let’s climb this mountain! By the way, because this is totally relevant, I’m going to randomly tell you about why being gay will help you climb mountains, even though it doesn’t.”

Sexuality is not a big issue. But the BSA is making it a big issue by preventing gay people from participating in a “program for young people that builds character, trains them in the responsibilities of participating citizenship, and develops personal fitness.” Because they let black boys and teens join, those black people don’t think “oh, I’m black, I’m different.” But if they were to block black youth from membership in the boy scouts, those kids and teens would assume that their skin color is important enough for them to be excluded.

Now, I’m not a boy scout myself, but I’m pretty sure the purpose of the boy scouts is to build character, participate in the responsibilities of citizenship, and develop personal fitness (actually, I’m 100% sure, because that’s what it said on the website… which I quoted above.) The fact that gays are denied these privileges exemplifies hypocrisy – there’s clearly nothing wrong with gay people, and if there were something wrong with them, which there isn’t, why wouldn’t we want to foster strong character and citizenship within them? Why would we deny that to anyone, regardless of their religious beliefs or their sexuality? It simply makes no sense.

My AP Biology study materials splayed across my desk. I need new pictures…

Okay, rant finished. Now to run for a bit and then study for my AP Biology test tomorrow. Wish me luck, and please share your opinions on this matter! I think this post was even a little less eloquent than my last one, but that’s alright – as long as I get my point across! Oh, and, woo, Chick-fil-A has possibly seen the light.

5 Comments

Filed under Society

5 responses to “Of Sexuality and Boy Scouts

  1. Andreas

    Wow, Thomas. I don’t know what to say. I feel like, everything that you posted seemed to both amaze and impress me. And yes, I totally agree to the fact that boy scouts shouldn’t exclude their members based on their sexuality. That’s preposterous. They should help them, not let them down because of their sexuality. Okay, that’s sexuality in 2 sentences. I’m officially being repetitive.

    Another thought-provoking post. Well done. And, good luck on your AP Biology test. 🙂

    • Thanks Andreas! It’s okay, I worry about being repetitive too, but it doesn’t really matter in this case. Also, I took the AP Bio test, it was… difficult, but hopefully I did well. (:

  2. For an organization that apparently holds the building of character as its ultimate aim, how can the BSA do something like this? They’re basically teaching 10 year olds that discrimination and hate and prejudice are okay….WHICH IS NOT OKAY!

    • I know, it’s sad how they perpetuate the cycle of prejudice. Legally there’s nothing we can do because they’re a private organization, but hopefully they’ll change their ways. The Girl Scouts of America are accepting of all – maybe the Boy Scouts will be too one day.

  3. Publius

    I have been a Boy Scout for nearly 6 years now. During each meeting we recite two oaths/laws that essentially sum up what we hold to be important and valuable. The first is the Scout Oath: On my honor, I will do my best, to do my duty to God and my country, and to obey the Scout Law. To help other people at all times, to keep myself physically strong, mentally awake, and morally straight.

    (The Scout Law: A scout is trustworthy, loyal, helpful, friendly, courteous, kind, obedient, cheerful, thrifty, brave, clean, and reverent)

    The key sticking point with allowing homosexual adult leaders and youth to join is the fact that the organization would be essentially saying that homosexuality is a good thing, a moral thing, and should be accepted as such. You say that men will not be attracted to women by merely being in close proximity, that they are above the primitive urges of beasts, therefore revealing your basic view of human nature, which is both benign and agreeable (it would be great if human beings were as you take them to be); however, they are most certainly not. Men will entertain fantasies of every women they met, pass by, talk with, look at, see on tv, read on the internet, say hi to at their workplace, etc. as the “lusts” of the flesh are more powerful beyond conception. Women are the same. Homosexual men will entertain fantasies with other homosexual or heterosexual men as well. Homosexual women will entertain fantasies with other homosexual or heterosexual women, as much as anyone else. And it is not out of the realm of possibility that heterosexual men and women will entertain fantasies with homosexual men and women. I would love to believe in the goodness of mankind, that it is a species which cares and is respectful to one another, but simply take a look beyond your borders or take a walk back in history. If you read history, you should see how man is no angel, by any means. Now it is important to state that neither heterosexuality or homosexuality is better than one or the other in the sense that a man who has sex with a women can commit atrocities just as malignant and vile as a man who has sex with a man (the same goes for a woman). The so-called Christians that you have met and talked too, I am deeply sorrowful to say, are not true Christians, rather, they are nominal-Christians (One’s by name only). This comes to no surprise as there are many more nominal-Christians than true Christians. The Bible is explicit in Genesis 2:24, when it says, “Therefore a man shall leave his father and his mother and hold fast to his wife, and they shall become one flesh.” It is pretty simple, and there is little ground for debate on the moral integrity of homosexuality. I apologize if I have grievously offended anyone by posting this comment, but an article written purely from the perspective of one who has never had substantial contact with the Boy Scouts of America, without the input of an actual Boy Scout, is an article that can not be trusted to pain as true a picture of other situation. Nevertheless, you write exceedingly well, and I congratulate you on your exceptional ability to write so artfully and concise.

Leave a Reply

